Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • Welcome to the Oregon State Board of Nursing
    Image Directory Not Found
    The Oregon State Board of Nursing safeguards the public's health and wellbeing by providing guidance for, and regulation of, entry into the profession, nursing education and continuing safe practice.

    The Board of Nursing, with the help of its staff, determines licensure and certification requirements; interprets the Oregon Nurse Practice Act; evaluates and approves nursing education programs and nursing assistant training programs; issues licenses and renewals; investigates complaints and takes disciplinary action against nurses and nursing assistants who violate the Oregon Nurse Practice Act; maintains the nursing assistant registry; and, administers nursing assistant competency evaluations.
  • Attention: License Renewal Reminders Change April 1
    The Board of Nursing sends courtesy notices to remind licensees when their licenses are due for renewal. Currently, email notices are sent 90, 60, and 15 days in advance of expiration date, and postcard notices are sent 30-days in advance.  In order to conserve resources and streamline processes, postcard notices will no longer be sent. Licensees should ensure that their current email address is on file with the Board office if they want to receive the courtesy notices.
    Renewing on time is ultimately the licensees’ responsibility, regardless of whether courtesy notices are received. Check your license expiration date today with the Online Verification System.
  • Expedited Licensing Available for Military Spouses

    If you are the spouse or domestic partner of an active service member, Oregon state law allows the Board of Nursing to expedite your licensure or certification endorsement process.  

    • In addition to meeting all usual Board requirements, applicants should:  A) Provide evidence that you are married to, or in a domestic partnership with, an active member of the United States Armed Forces, and B) Provide verification that you are licensed or certified in another state, and you are not subject to disciplinary action in that state.
      Please call or email our office at (971) 673-0685 or oregon.bn.info@state.or.us to get further information about this expedited application process.
  • Students Enrolled in Non-Oregon Based Programs & Preceptors
    two nurses
    If you are enrolled in a non-Oregon based APRN or prelicensure program, or precepting a student enrolled in a non-Oregon based program, please review the information page linked below.
  • Public Disciplinary Documents Available Online
    gavel
    As of July 2010, copies of public disciplinary documents taken during each Board Meeting are available online. You may view a list of all actions taken during a Board Meeting by clicking the link below. Simply click on the applicable meeting date to find a link to the documents.

    You may also look up a licensee with our online License Verification System and view any discipline documents for individual licensees.
     
Applicants and Licensees Consumer Information