Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

90-Day RN or LPN Licensure Exception Request

Employers Needing 90-Day Exceptions for Temporary Staffing Shortages:  Oregon law (ORS 678.031(7)(e, f, and h)) allows certain employers to request licensure exceptions for non-Oregon nurses in temporary staffing situations.  This exception does not apply to nursing assistants.  Staffing agencies and nurse applicants may not initiate the request for licensure exception.  To be eligible for this exception, nurses must have an endorsement application on file with the Board prior to approval.  The employer will be notified directly by OSBN staff that they have been approved.  Following the initial 90-day exception, the employer may request an additional 30 days.

Requests must be submitted by the CNO/DNS of the facility requesting the exception, not the nurse being hired.