The Residential Electrical Inspector course explains the codes and processes for performing residential electrical inspections covered by the Oregon Low-rise Residential Dwelling Code. The course explains the various components of electrical installations that are verified during the inspection process. The course is taught through interactive training between the instructor and students, specific questions and assigned research, a progress review, and a final review. Students who successfully complete the course and pass the state electrical inspector certification exam will be issued an Oregon Residential Electrical Inspector (CAE) certification.
Course requirement: Individuals who have registered and been approved to take the electrical course who do not hold a current Oregon Inspector Certification (OIC) will be required to enroll for the next available OIC class. Training staff will contact you with available dates.
Please note: Those interested should register immediately once registration is open so your application can be reviewed for consideration. Although we are aware many are waiting to take this course, seating will be limited. Those who work for, or on behalf of, an Oregon building department (county, city or state) will be considered for seating first as we have a responsibility to meet the needs of current inspection services in the state. All other registration requests will be considered in the order received.
Course length: 24 weeks. All students must attend class in person, in Salem for the first day of the course and on progress exam days. Students will choose a proctored location to take the final exam. Class days that fall on a state closure will
extend the course by one day for each occurrence.
Required course work:
- Course progress exams will be assigned throughout the 24 week course. Live attendance in Salem is required on those days.
- Reading assignments and other homework may be given after completion of a lesson
- Final exam: students may use code book and code reference material. Lessons, hand written notes and electronic devices will not be allowed. Exam will be given at a proctored location.
requirements for attendance, course work, and receiving certification
Computer system specifications
Required course materials
- Basic calculator
- National Electrical Code (NEC) Handbook, hard cover - current version
- Oregon Amendments to the NEC (please print from link on this page)
- Ugly's Electrical References
- Tom Henry's Key Word Index
- Cite-it-write-it checklist
- Download individual laws and rules, or purchase full set from BCD
- Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR)
- Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS)
Optional course materials:
Code book vendors
Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater Street NW, CR C
Salem, OR 97304
(or attend online via Adobe Connect)
$750 (includes certification fee)