Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Inspector certification renewal cycle

All BCD inspector commercial level certification holders are required to complete a code change class provided by the division to maintain their active certification. The division has prepared online training videos and supplementary materials showing the substantial changes to each newly adopted code.

2022 Code change cycle

On October 1, 2022, the division adopted the 2022 editions of the Oregon Structural Specialty Code (OSSC) and the Oregon Mechanical Specialty Code (OMSC). Certification holders must be able to demonstrate that they have completed all required code update training and continuing education for the 2022 code updates prior to their next Oregon Inspector Certification (OIC) renewal, June 1, 2023.

2021 code change cycle

Note The division has adopted revisions to OAR 918-090-1028 that moves back the renewal date for the Oregon Inspector Certification (OIC) from Nov. 1, 2022 to June 1, 2023. This new rule became effective on Oct. 1, 2022. This rule allows individuals who have not completed their 2021 code change cycle training to complete and self-certify completion of the training to the division no later than June 1, 2023.

Please read this notice explaining the changes in detail.

If you have questions, please contact the training program at