Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Higher Education Coordination Commission

Statewide Transfer Degrees and Other Transfer Initiatives

The State of Oregon and public institutions are working together to streamline the transfer of credits between Oregon’s 17 community colleges and seven universities to save transfer students time and money and to support their success.

In addition to recent statewide work on Major Transfer Maps and Common Course Numbering described here, there are other initiatives underway to streamline transfer pathways. To learn more about how institutions are supporting transfer initiatives, see the individual institution websites.

Learn more about the structure and requirements for the programs below in the Community College Program Approval section of our site. Look for these programs in the Oregon Community College Policy and Process Book, a document developed for community college representatives.

Oregon Transfer Module

The 45-credit Oregon Transfer Module (OTM) provides a subset of general education courses that all "count" as a transferable block toward university requirements. It serves as a portable and stackable credential for community college students pursuing an associate degree and can provide an early start on a college degree for high school students.

Statewide Transfer Degrees

Statewide transfer degrees in Oregon provide diverse educational pathways. The Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer (AAOT) and Associate of Science Oregon Transfer (ASOT) degrees, including specific tracks for Business and Computer Science, fulfill lower division general education requirements for transferring to Oregon public universities. The Associate of General Studies (AGS) offers a flexible curriculum tailored to individual interests. The Associate of Science (AS) focuses on science and technical fields, while the Associate of Applied Science (AAS) is designed for students aiming to enter the workforce immediately after graduation.

  • Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer (AAOT)
  • Associate of Science Oregon Transfer Business (ASOT-Business)
  • Associate of Science Oregon Transfer Computer Science (ASOT-Computer Science)
  • Associate of General Studies (AGS)
  • Associate of Science (AS)
  • Associate of Applied Science (AAS)

Other Initiatives

Interstate Passport

Several Oregon institutions participate in Interstate Passport, a Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)-led initiative to create a multi-state lower division general education transfer framework based on learning outcomes.

Reverse Transfer

Reverse Transfer is the practice of retroactively awarding associate degrees to university students who complete the required credits for the AS or AAOT following transfer to a university. All public institutions are required by statute to participate in Reverse Transfer, but each institution implements the policy locally.

Stay Engaged

Transfer Council meetings and CCN subcommittee meetings are open to the public.

Subscribe to the Transfer Hub, a regular HECC email newsletter on transfer strategies.