Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Higher Education Coordination Commission

Transfer Council – Members and Subcommittees

The Transfer Council is comprised of representatives from Oregon public universities, community colleges, and secondary education institutions or organizations. Here you can find information about the membership and structure of the Council and its subcommittees.

Learn more about the Transfer Council and find meeting details here.

The Transfer Council was created by legislative action with the passage of Senate Bill (SB) 233 in 2021. Under this legislation, the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) requests nominations for 15 positions to be filled by students, faculty members, and administrator organizations at Oregon public universities, community colleges, and/or high schools. The chairperson of the Commission, or a designee of the chairperson of the Commission, serves as a non-voting, ex-officio member.

Transfer Council Members

NamePosition and TermAffiliation
Jose Coll

Transfer Council Co-chair, Academic Officer, OR Public University, appointed Oct 2023, 2-year term
Provost & Vice President of Academic Affairs, Western Oregon University
Alix Gitelman
Academic Officer, OR Public University, appointed Oct 2021, 3-year term*
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Senior Vice Provost, Oregon State University
Randi Harris

Transfer Specialist, OR Public University, appointed Oct 2023, 2-year term
Transfer & Returning Student Resource Center
Tyler Hayes

Transfer Specialist, OR Community College, appointed Oct 2021, 2-year term
Director of Admissions/Registrar, Central Oregon Community College
Benji Henslee

Accelerated College Credit Educator High School, 3-year term*  
CTE Certified Business Teacher from Mazama High School
Traci Hodgson

Faculty Member, OR Community College, appointed May 2022, 3-year term*
Professor, Chemeketa Community College
Nate Kersey 

Student, Oregon Public University, appointed July 2022,  2-year term
Student, University of Oregon
David Plotkin 

Academic Officer, OR Community College, appointed Oct 2021,  2-year term
Vice President of Instruction and Student Services, Clackamas Community College

Transfer Council Co-chair, Academic Officer, OR Community College, appointed, 3-year term*

Greg Hamann

Ex-Officio, non-voting, HECC designee
HECC Commissioner; President emeritus Linn Benton Community College
Alex Sager
Faculty Member, OR Public University, appointed Oct 2021, 2-year term
Associate Professor and Department Chair, Portland State University
Tad Shannon
Faculty Member, OR Public University, appointed Oct 2021, the 3-year term*
Associate Professor, Computer Science, Western Oregon University
Ryan Bonn
Student, OR Community College, appointed July 2024, 2-year termPortland Community College
Kate SullivanFaculty Member, OR Community College, appointed Oct 2021, 2-year term
Writing Instructor, Lane Community College

Adam WhalenAcademic Officer, OR High School, appointed June 2022, the 3-year term*
Director of Secondary Partnerships, Willamette ESD
High School Student
*Initial term is only 3 years. If renewed, the subsequent term is 2 years.

Transfer Council Subcommittees

The Transfer Council has numerous subcommittees. The Transfer Council subcommittees charged with advising the Council on Common Course Numbering and Major Transfer Maps are described in the sections below. 

The following document shares information on serving on a Transfer Council Subcommittee (e.g., MTM subcommittee, CCN subcommittee). The document also shares a link to the nomination form, which must be completed when nominating a name to serve on a subcommittee. 

The Survey and Transfer Council Report Subcommittee is charged with developing a survey and sending it to all 24 post-secondary public institutions and recommending an annual report to the Commission.

Major Transfer Maps (MTM) Subcommittees

The Transfer Council convenes numerous subcommittees focused on development of recommendations for Major Transfer Maps. Find details on MTM public meetings here.

  • Biology Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee
  • Business Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee
  • Computer Science Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee
  • Elementary Education Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee
  • English Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee
  • Human Development & Family Studies Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee
  • Psychology Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee
  • Sociology Major Transfer Map (MTM) Subcommittee

For information on the current MTM subcommittee members, contact Erin Weeks-Earp at

Institution Resources, Major Transfer Maps: resources for MTM development and approved MTMs

Common Course Numbering Subcommittees

The Transfer Council convenes numerous subcommittees focused on the development of recommendations for Common Course Numbering. Legislation passed in 2024 (Senate Bill 1152) excluded certain subcommittees of the Transfer Council, including those related to CCN, from public meeting law requirements. However, we continue to make the schedule of meetings and video links available for viewers here.

CCN Subcommittee Membership and Role:

Institution Resources, Common Course Numbering: resources for development of CCNs as well as a list of approved courses using CCNs

How to Stay Engaged