Skip to main content

Eastern Oregon Economic Development Planning Project

In 2018, the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development (DLCD) received $300,000 for economic development planning assistance from the Oregon Legislature via HB 5201. The bill allocates funding "for the purpose of providing technical assistance grants to eastern Oregon counties for economic opportunity analyses (EOAs)." Funding from this program must be spent in its entirety by June 30, 2019.

The purpose of an EOA is to ensure that cities have an available land supply to support economic growth. An EOA includes analysis of local and regional economic trends, evaluation of the community's opportunities and barriers to economic growth, and a determination of the types and amounts of land and infrastructure needed to support expected employment.

In order to complete the work on time, DLCD is contracting with consultants experienced in completing EOAs and associated public facility inventories. The consultant will work for a city – or group of cities within a county – to prepare draft updates to local comprehensive plans.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Can Apply

All cities and counties in Eastern Oregon are eligible to submit a Request for Assistance. Eastern Oregon is defined in state law as the following 17 counties: Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler. Because EOAs are completed for a specific urban growth area, a county government is eligible only as a convener for a group of cities within its boundaries.

If DLCD receives more interest in EOAs than the available funding can cover, priority will be given first to cities that are: (a) in a county with a population smaller than 20,000; (b) in a distressed area; and (c) geographically isolated. Second priority will be given to those cities that are: (a) in a county with a population smaller than 20,000; and (b) in a distressed area. The department will also consider local government readiness and give special consideration to those applications that include multiple cities within a region or county.


DLCD accepted applications for planning assistance from cities and counties in Eastern Oregon through May 31, 2018. For reference, the application is linked here. The deadline for applications has now passed and no new applications will be accepted for this current funding cycle.

For questions regarding the status of an application, please contact Tabatha Hoge.

Related Documents

House Bill 5201 Section 177
Frequently Asked Questions
Request for Assistance
Notice of Intent to Award


Kirstin Greene
Economic Development Specialist
Phone: 503-934-0017

Tabatha Hoge
Grants Administrative Specialist
Phone: 503-934-0054

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how