Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon's Coastal Zone

Coastal ZoneThe Oregon coastal zone includes the state's coastal watersheds and extends seaward three nautical miles and inland to the crest of the coast range, with a few exceptions:

  • Along the Umpqua River, where it extends upstream to Scottsburg;
  • Along the Rogue River, where it extends upstream to Agness; and
  • In the Columbia River Basin, where it extends upstream to the downstream end of Puget Island.

This watershed-based coastal zone was first expressed in 1971 by the Oregon Legislature. Within this zone, the Oregon Coastal Management Program applies to the land and water areas, except on lands owned by the federal government or held in trust under Indian tribal jurisdiction.

View an interactive map of the Oregon Coastal Zone.