Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Delegated Authority for Speed Zones

Oregon Revised Statute 810.180 regulates the designation of maximum speeds when they are different from the statutory maximum speed limit of roadways. There are two main types of delegated authority for speed zoning in Oregon. All delegations are only allowed if ODOT determines the requesting agency “will exercise the authority according to criteria adopted by the department.”

Under subsection (5)(f), ODOT can delegate authority on low volume roadways to any city or county upon their request. This request can be made for specific roadway or for all low volume roads under the jurisdiction of the requesting agency.

In 2021, House Bill 3055 amended the ORS, adding subsection (5)(g). This new subsection allows ODOT the ability to delegate its authority of speed limit setting to any incorporated city and two counties (Multnomah and Clackamas) named in the ORS.

The third and least common delegated authority is over unpaved roads. Under subsection (5)(f), ODOT can delegate authority on unpaved roads.


During the past five years, Oregon has revised its speed laws. This training suite provides an overview of those revisions, along with information about procedural updates associated with the law changes. This training suite is required for local agencies seeking delegated authority and those responsible for writing Speed Zone Investigation reports.

Access the full YouTube playlist.

Contact the Traffic Section

4040 Fairview Industrial Drive SE, MS5
Salem, Oregon 97302
Phone: 503-986-3568
Fax: 503-986-3749

Circle arrow icon Speed Zone Homepage