Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon.gov Homepage

FAQ

Answers to Commonly Asked Questions

​Members join for different reasons. The most common reasons include:

Saving money. Electric vehicles and vehicles with 40+mpg receive a reduced DMV registration fee ranging from $35 to $115 a year.

Paying their fair share. OReGO drivers want to contribute to maintaining a safe, accessible and reliable transportation system. If you drive more, you pay more. If you drive less, you pay less. The net revenue from OReGO goes into the State Highway Fund to pay for roadway and bridge maintenance. This fund uses a 50/30/20 model where 50% of funds go to ODOT, 30% go to counties and 20% go to cities to fund transportation. 



​In Oregon, we fund transportation through the fuel tax — 40 cents from every gallon of fuel purchased goes to the State Highway Fund, which pays to improve and maintain roads and bridges. This fund uses a 50/30/20 model where 50% of funds go to ODOT, 30% go to counties and 20% go to cities to fund transportation. 


As drivers reduce fuel consumption with more fuel-efficient or electric cars, Oregon needs a new revenue source to construct and preserve roads and bridges.

OReGO is one solution to help fund transportation in Oregon. Drivers pay two cents for every mile they drive. If you drive more, you pay more. If you drive less, you pay less. ODOT has operated this program since 2015. Several states have followed our lead and adopted a pay-by-mile program.



​The decision is up to you. It’s a voluntary program. Participants tell us they enroll because they appreciate the reduced DMV fee, and they still want to pay for maintaining roads and bridges. All funds from OReGO help fund transportation costs. 

In the below chart, the total DMV registration fee includes the annual $43 fee per vehicle and the added fee for electric or fuel-efficient vehicles with a rating of 40+ mpg. See if you would value the reduced fee:

Registration Fees4 Years2 Years
40+ mpg NOT in OReGO$312$156
40+ mpg enrolled in OReGO$172$86
Electric NOT in OReGO$632$316
Electric enrolled in OReGO$172$86​





​To enroll a vehicle in OReGO, it must be registered in Oregon as a light-duty passenger vehicle. We accept electric, hybrid, diesel and gas-powered vehicles rated at 20 miles per gallon or better. Diesel or gas-powered vehicles in OReGO receive a credit to ensure drivers pay only one fee. If you’re not sure if your vehicle qualifies, email us to see if your vehicle is supported at MyOReGO@odot.oregon.gov​

​The same way that fuels tax revenues are used. The Oregon Legislature directed ODOT to deposit all net OReGO revenue into the State Highway Fund. The fund is used for maintenance of roads and bridges.​

  • ​ODOT works with account managers (private companies) to offer OReGO drivers a choice of reporting their miles, including mileage-reporting options with GPS or without. 
  • The account managers (private companies) collect the miles driven and manage the data and payments of OReGO customers.
  • OReGO participants pay only one fee—two cents per mile. The taxes paid on any fuel purchased for the participating vehicle are deducted.
  • Once a month or quarterly, OReGO participants receive an invoice from their account manager with the fee and total miles driven. If an OReGO member uses a GPS, miles driven outside Oregon are not collected.
  • ODOT receives the total anonymous mileage data from all the vehicles the account manager represents, and these funds collected are deposited into the State Highway Fund. 
  • OReGO contributes to improving and maintaining our roads by creating a sustainable funding model based on actual use—miles driven—instead of gallons of fuel consumed—people who drive more pay more.



  • ​Weight, weather, and traction devices cause the majority of road damage. Oregon has had a weight-mile tax on heavy commercial vehicles over 26,000 pounds since 1947. These vehicles pay a mileage-based fee that varies by weight and in the heaviest cases by weight and number of axles. Passenger vehicles are typically all under 10,000 pounds including electric vehicles.
    • Weather: Harsh weather, including rain, snow, ice, and hot sun, cause a great deal of pavement damage.
    • ​Traction devices: Studded tires and tire chains cause substantial road damage, visible as ruts in the road. Oregonians use studded tires much less now, but the damage is still significant.



​Oregon ensures that freight vehicles (26,000 pounds or more) pay their fair share for this extra burden through the weight-mile tax, where vehicles are taxed on their weight and the miles they travel in Oregon. Passenger vehicles like cars, pick-up trucks and vans weigh much less (under 10,000 pounds) and produce less wear and tear on the roads than freight. Weighing passenger vehicles is impractical.​

​ODOT has operated this program since 2015. OReGO is one solution to help fund transportation in Oregon. Drivers pay two cents for every mile they drive. If you drive more, you pay more. If you drive less, you pay less. Several states have followed our lead and adopted a pay-by-mile program.​

​Our research showed that drivers want to stay anonymous and keep their miles confidential. This system allows our companies to only send us in the total miles driven by all their customers, and not individual accounts, which keeps everyone’s data private and protected.​

​The Oregon legislature would need to make the decision to make OReGO mandatory. A pay-by-mile program is one way Oregon can keep funding transportation. Drivers pay their fair share to maintain the roads they use. 

Currently, electric vehicles and vehicles at 40 mpg+ contribute to maintaining roads and bridges through the added DMV fee, which is reduced is a vehicle is enrolled in OReGO.