Skip to main content

Lobby Registrations & Expenditure Reports

Lobby Registrations

Chapter 171.725 - 171.785 of the Oregon Revised Statutes requires a person who meets certain lobby thresholds to register with the Oregon Government Ethics Commission, and to file quarterly expenditure reports regarding their lobbying activity.
The Commission provides an online Electronic Filing System (EFS) for the registration process and for collection of the required expenditure reports. You may click on the following link to access the system or to create an account, or on the E-Filing Login tab at the top of the page if you already have an account.

ELECTRONIC FILING SYSTEM

Please refer to the following items on this page for important information about lobbying.  If you have additional questions, please call the Commission office at 503-378-5105, or send an email to ogec.mail@oregon.gov.  

Lobbyist

ORS 171.740(1) requires a person to register as a lobbyist within three working days from the time that any of the following criteria are met:
  • The person agrees to provide personal services for money or any other consideration for the purpose of lobbying.
  • The person has engaged in lobbying activities for 24 hours in a calendar quarter.
  • The person has spent $100 on lobbying activity expenses in a calendar quarter.
  • A registered lobbyist has begun to represent an additional client or employer.

Client/Employer

A person or organization on whose behalf lobbying activity is conducted. A Client/Employer can retain, employ, or designate any person to carry on lobbying activity on behalf of itself.

Want to determine if a Client or Employer is represented by a lobbyist registered in Oregon?  Click the search icon to be routed to the Electronic Filing System Public Records Lookup.

 



Lobbyist and Client/Employer Quarterly Expenditure Reports

All registered lobbyists must file a Lobbyist Quarterly Expenditure Report with the Oregon Government Ethics Commission (Commission), and any Client/Employer who has a lobbyist representing them must file a Client/Employer Quarterly Expenditure Report.
The Commission provides an online Electronic Filing System (EFS) to collect the required expenditure reports. Users can access their accounts 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  

Report Due Dates

Lobbyist and client/employer expenditure reports are due on the 15th day of the month following each calendar quarter as follows:
  • January 15
  • April 15
  • July 15
  • October 15
There is no grace period or extension allowed if the 15th falls on a weekend or holiday. The EFS is available 24-hours a day, 7-days a week.
The Commission may impose civil penalties upon a person who fails to file the statement required under ORS 171.745 or 171.750. Failure to file the required statement in timely fashion is prima facie evidence of a violation. The Commission may impose a civil penalty of $10 for each of the first 14 days the statement is late beyond the due date, and $50 per day thereafter up to a maximum of $5,000. 


Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×