Our OSD Museum houses a comprehensive collection of items of historical significance and maintains archival records of film, photographs, and publications. Free tours and research sessions are scheduled through the administration offices.
Preserving OSD’s History
OSD is home to one of America’s most comprehensive and well-preserved school museums. The museum features replicas of rooms as they were in the early 1900’s when OSD moved from its Turner Road location to its current site in 1911. The walk through tour includes displays of the library, superintendent’s office, a classroom, the superintendent’s home, student and staff dining rooms, kitchen, print shop, photography lab, shoemaking shop, woodshop, sewing room, athletics, dorm rooms, youth activities, and a comprehensive collection of technology used to teach Deaf and hard of hearing students.
The museum also houses collections of photographs and periodicals produced by the school, as well as other periodicals and books related to the language, culture and education of Deaf people.
The new Deaf Culture Learning Center housed in Kuenzi Hall houses the Museum office and archives, as well as selections of museum items and photographs. OSD’s museum is a state historical and cultural treasure. All items in the OSD Museum, and/or designated OSD historical items are the property of the State of Oregon.
The OSD Administration, in compliance with the Oregon State Archives Department, oversees the management, utilization, and preservation of the Museum and OSD’s historical archives, with the OSD Alumni Association’s Board of Directors acting as its advisory committee. The OSD Alumni Association’s Board of Directors works with the OSD Administration to maintain, preserve, showcase and improve the museum and its collections.
Free tours are generally conducted during weekday hours, but can be scheduled for other times depending on the availability of tour guides.
OSD wishes to thank Mark Hamstreet for his many years of service to the museum. Mark, who graduated from OSD in 1978, originated the museum project while still a student.