Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Governor's Advisory Committees
Committee Introduction

Governor's Advisory Committees
advise the ODOT Transportation Safety Division (TSD) and the Governor's Highway Safety Representative on safety issues in a variety of disciplines.
The Governor's Advisory Committees serve under Executive order of the Governor or by statute.  The committees are: 
OTSC - Oregon Transportation Safety Committee
GAC DUII - Governor's Advisory Committee on DUII
GAC Motorcycle -  Governor's Advisory Committee on Motorcycle Safety

About the OTSC


Mike Laverty, Chair
Victor Hoffer, Vice Chair
Jerome S. Cooper, Member
Louis A. Ornelas, P.E., Member 
Marian Owens, Member
Committee Secretary:  Rachelle Nelson                                      
                                    503 986-4188
ORS 802.300:
(1) The Transportation Safety Committee is created within the Department of Transportation to advise the department and the Oregon Transportation Commission concerning the functions described under ORS 802.310 and to perform any other functions related to transportation safety that the commission delegates. The committee established under this section shall consist of five members appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the commission. The term of office of each member is four years. Before the expiration of the term of a member, the Governor shall appoint a successor. A member is eligible for reappointment. In case of a vacancy for any cause, the Governor shall appoint a person to fill the office for the unexpired term.   


*Meetings are on Tuesdays, unless otherwise noted.* 

Times (excluding January)
9:00am – 9:30am Pre-Meeting
9:30am – 12:30pm Formal Meeting
2015 Meeting Calendar:

Tuesday, March 10, 2015  *
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 *
Tuesday, May 12, 2015  **
Tuesday, June 9, 2015  *
Tuesday, July 14, 2015 - MEETING CANCELED
Tuesday, August 11, 2015  **  note address change
Tuesday, September 8, 2015  *
Tuesday, October 13, 2015  *
Tuesday, November 10, 2015  **  note address change
Tuesday, December 8, 2015

* Location for meetings excluding January, February, May, August and November:
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST)
4190 Aumsville Highway SE
Salem, Oregon

** Location for May, August and November Meetings:
Chemeketa Center for Business and Industry
626 High Street NE
Salem, OR 97301


Chuck Hayes, Chair
Jody Vaughan, Vice-Chair
Connie Cabrera 
Kathleen M. Dailey
Teresa Douglas
Cate Duke 
Eric Hlad
Vinita Howard
Terry Timeus
Committee Staff:
Program Manager, Daniel Estes
Transportation Safety Division
503 986-4183
503 986-3143 FAX 
4190 Aumsville Highway SE
Salem, Oregon  
Committee Secretary:  Rachelle Nelson                                       
                                    503 986-4188
The Governor's advisory on DUII shall broadly represent the Legislative Assembly, public and private organizations involved in DUI countermeasures, victims of drunk drivers, and the general public." "...Heighten public awareness of the seriousness of the drunk driving problem. Persuade communities to attack the drunk driving problem in a more organized and systematic manner, including plans to eliminate bottlenecks in the arrest, trial and sentencing process that impair the effectiveness of many drunk driving laws. Generate public support for increased enforcement of state and local drunk-driving laws. Educate the public as to the dangers of driving while under the influence and its effects on life and property..."
Oregon Public Safety Academy (DPSST)
4190 Aumsville Highway SE
Salem, Oregon
Meetings are scheduled 9:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.  

The 2015 meeting dates of the Governor's Advisory Committee on Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (GAC on DUII) will be held the first Friday of every month (with the exception of April, July and September) as follows:

March 6, 2015
April 10, 2015
May 1, 2015
June 5, 2015
July 10, 2015
August 7, 2015 - MEETING CANCELED
September 11, 2015
October 2, 2015
November 6, 2015
December 4, 2015
GAC on Motorcycle Safety
Robert Reichenberg, Jefferson - Chair
Peter Russell, Bend - Vice Chair
Chris Henry, Eugene
Van Moore, Salem
Peggy Munsell, Gervais
David W. Peterson, Oregon City
Debbie Weber, Albany
Jeff Greiner, Motorcycle Program Manager
(503) 986-4198
Committee Secretary: Rachelle Nelson                                    
                                   503 986-4188
Liaisons to Committee: 
DMV:   Becky Renninger - DMV HQ
Oregon State Police:    Jason Lindland
Portland Police Bureau:    Bret Barnum
TEAM Oregon:  Pat Hahn– Oregon State University
Oregon Army National Guard:  Brian Mortenson 
The committee’s focus shall be upon rider education, drinking and riding, road hazards unique to motorcyclists, motorist awareness of motorcycles, sharing the road and other safety issues. The committee advises the Governor and the Governor’s Highway Safety Representative on safety for motorcyclists in Oregon. The committee works closely with the Oregon Department of Transportation to find solutions to engineering related safety issues that effect motorcyclists.
Unless otherwise notified, meetings are held at:

ODOT - Transportation Safety Division
4040 Fairview Industrial Drive SE
Salem, Oregon 97302-1142

Time:  4:00pm - 6:30pm 


Meeting Information

​January 15, 2015
Annual Planning Workshop

​February 19, 2015

March 19, 2015

April 16, 2015

May 21, 2015

June 18, 2015

July 16, 2015

October 15, 2015

November 19, 2015


Annual GAC-MS Reports

2013-14 GAC MS Annual Report