Skip to main content

Functional Classification

Federal Functional Classification is the system by which roads are grouped into functional systems according to the type of service and amount of traffic the facility carries. Functional Classification is used to determine design standards of roads and determines Federal Aid funding eligibility. Federal Functional Classification is assigned to all public roads using federal guidelines and is approved by the Federal Highway Administration.

Federal Functional Classification updates can be made at any time by contacting your region planner or  Road Inventory & Classification Services.

After each U.S. Decennial Census, the Federal Highway Administration requires states to review and update their Federal Aid Urban Boundaries and Federal Functional Classification. Oregon will begin this review process in the summer of 2022 once the urban data is received from the U.S. Census Bureau. This process requires the cooperation of all local agencies that own or manage public roads. More information coming soon.

Federal Aid Eligibility

Federal Aid eligible roads include roads federally designated as:

  • Urban minor collector
  • Major collector
  • Minor arterial
  • Principal arterial
  • Interstate

Federal Aid eligible roads are shown on the following products:


National Highway System

The National Highway System, or NHS, includes the Interstate Highway System as well as other roads important to the nation's economy, defense, and mobility.

The NHS was developed by the Federal Department of Transportation in cooperation with the states, local officials, and metropolitan planning organizations.

Changes to NHS may be requested by contacting  Road Inventory & Classification Services.

ODOT records Video Logs on all NHS routes.

NHS Maps

Statewide map showing roads on the NHS:

Maps showing NHS Intermodal Facilities and Connectors:

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how