The winter recreation parking location program, or the "Sno-Park" program, was created in 1977 to provide snow removal in designated winter parking areas. Oregon Department of Transportation with advice from the Winter Recreation Advisory Committee designates winter parking areas and sets the parking permit fee and priorities for snow removal.
Winter Recreation Advisory Committee
The Winter Recreation Advisory Committee is a seven member committee consisting of ski area operators, the general public and representatives from the Oregon Nordic Club, Oregon State Snowmobile Association and Pacific NW Ski Association. Committee members are appointed to serve 4-year terms. The current committee members are:
- Mark Schumacher, Chair
- Chris Kastner, Vice-Chair
- Betsy Belshaw
- David Fornker
- Hiram Towle
- Peter Johnson
- Ken Roadman
The Sno-Park Program is funded entirely by the sale of Sno-Park parking permits. There are three types of permits available:
- An annual permit for $25
- A three-day permit for $9 (good for 3 consecutive days)
- A one-day permit for $4
Driver and Motor Vehicles coordinates the sale of Sno-Park permits.
Sno-Park permits are available at DMV field offices and from permit sales agents at winter resorts, sporting goods stores and other retail outlets. Sales agents may charge an additional service fee for each permit they sell.
Annual permits are also available at
DMV2U. When purchasing an annual permit online, a printable interim permit will be emailed to you immediately. You can use this interim annual permit for up to 14 days until the annual permit is received by mail.
Sno-Park Permit Information
Questions on how to buy a Sno-Park permit or information on becoming a Sno-Park permit sales agent contact DMV, Business Regulation, at 503-945-5052 or email SnoParkPermits@odot.oregon.gov.
Oregon accepts winter parking permits from California and Idaho for vehicles registered in those states, and those states accept Oregon Sno-Park permits (except the interim annual permit) as well.
For information on California and Idaho Sno-Park sites:
If you park in an Oregon Sno-Park between November 1st and April 30th, a valid permit needs to be displayed in the lower left corner of your windshield. Failure to do so may result in a $30 fine. Enforcement of the permit requirement may be provided by federal, state or local law enforcement agencies. If you receive a citation and have questions, contact the agency that issued the citation or the County court where the Sno-Park is located.
There are about 100 Sno-Parks throughout Oregon’s mountain passes and in most ski, snowmobile, and snow play areas. For a list of parking areas designated as a Sno-Park visit
For questions on activities available or for trail maps contact the land manager listed for the Sno-Park.
Adding a Sno-Park
Requests for a winter parking area to be in the Sno-Park program are reviewed by the Winter Recreation Advisory Committee before consideration by ODOT. This includes requests for a new parking area or the relocation or expansion of an existing Sno-Park.
Requests must be submitted by the land manager responsible for the parking area using the
Sno-Park Application Form. The information given in the application must meet the
Guidelines and Criteria for Sno-Parks. A site drawing showing the general layout of the parking area and vicinity map will assist in the review of the request and should be included with the application.
When a winter parking area is designated a Sno-Park, the Sno-Park program provides funding for snow removal. All other maintenance and development costs are generally the responsibility of the land manager. Occasionally funding for maintenance or development costs of Sno-Parks may become available, at which case land managers will be notified.