You are here:
Oregon has several laws that are designed to help keep youth safe while enjoying ATV recreation.
Oregon requires an ATV Safety Education Card for youth operating ATVs on public land. A free online course is available at www.rideATVOregon.org. Youth under the age of 16 need to complete a hands-on course in addition to the online course within 6 months.
For complete information about getting the card for both youth and adults visit our ATV Safety website.
Class I (quad, 3-wheelers) – There is no minimum age, but youth must meet rider fit requirements.
operating Class I (quad) ATVs that are too big for them are at serious
risk of injury or death. It is all too common for tragedy to strike a
family when an ATV overturns and crushes or suffocates a youth. Youth
must meet all the following minimum physical size requirements (Rider
Fit) in relationship to the vehicle:
Class II (sand rail, trucks, SUVs) – Must be at least 15 years old with “driving privileges” (license or learners permit)
Class III (off-road motorcycle) – Must be at least 7 years old.
IV (side by side) – Operators under age of 16 must meet manufactures
age recommendation. Therefore, youth can only operate youth machines.
DOT approved helmets are required for Youth under age 18 for all ATVs, except Class II (sand rail, trucks, SUVs), which are street legal (have a license plate and current registration)
Class I (quad, 3-wheelers) – Helmets required for all youth under 18.
Class II (sand rail, trucks, SUVs):
Class III (off-road motorcycle) – Helmets required for all youth under 18
Class IV (side by side) – Helmets required for all youth under 18
See ORS 821.202
All youth under age 16 must wear a seatbelt and follow rules for highway use of child restraining seats. If a child must be in a child seat on the highway, they must also be in a child seat on a Class II (sand rail, trucks, SUVs) or Class IV (side by side) ATV. A child should never be placed in child seat on a Class I (Quad) since it does not have a roll over protection system.
Oregon law also states that all Class II (sand rail, trucks, SUVs) or Class IV (side by side) vehicles must have a seat and seat belt for the operator and all the passengers. Therefore, youth may not ride in the back of a pickup truck.
See ORS 811.210, 811.215 and OAR 735-116-0000 (i) (j)
Adult Supervision is required for youth operators under age 16.
Some of the worst accidents have been due to a lack of adult supervision. Adults are important to teach youth proper skills, make sure youth do not get out of control and provide assistance in case of an accident or vehicle breakdown.
See ORS 821.170 – 821.203
If riding double on a motorcycle, you must have a second set of foot pegs, which are common on street legal motorcycles.
If riding double on a quad, the passenger must be behind the operator, and must have room for their feet on the foot pegs/floorboard. A passenger may not ride on the front or rear rack of a quad since there is no foot protection.
See ORS 811.190, OAR 735-116-0000 (e)
Required Protective Gear
Recommended Protective Gear
There are several fun websites for youth that are both entertaining and will help to teach kids about proper ATV Use:Let your kids explore the Adventure Trail with “Penny and Rascal” on the National OHV Conservation Council (NOHVCC) website https://www.adventuretrails.xyz/Kids Tread Lightly Page https://www.treadlightly.org/programs/tl-kids/#Both of these non-profits have good information for adults also https://www.nohvcc.org/https://www.treadlightly.org/
Jeff TrejoATV Safety Education Coordinator725 Summer St. NE Suite CSalem, OR 97301503-586-9622
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how