Skip to main content

Oregon Parks and Recreation Commission

The Oregon Parks and Recreation Commission was created by the State Legislature in 1989 to establish policies, adopt rules necessary to execute the duties of the Department, set fees, acquire property, promote the state´s outdoor recreation policy, and appoint the OPRD director. Commissioners serve four-year terms. They are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate.



September 15 & 16, 2020

Draft Agenda

Tuesday, September 15th
Location: Teleconference

WORK-SESSION / TRAINING: 8:00am – 9:30am
•    Powers and Authorities of the Commission Training
•    Volunteers

Wednesday, September 16th
Location: Teleconference. The business meeting at 10:30am will be streamed to Youtube. To speak during the business meeting for up to three minutes, register online.

Executive Session:  8:30 – 10:15am
The Commission will meet in Executive Session to discuss acquisition priorities and opportunities, and potential litigation. The Executive Session will be held pursuant to ORS 192.660(2)(e) and (h), and is closed to the public.

Business Meeting:  10:30 – 2:00pm
1.    Commission Business
       a)    Welcome and Introductions (Information)
       b)    Approval of June 2020 Minutes (Action)
       c)    Approval of September 2020 Agenda (Action)

2.    Public Comment:  This is the time for the public to address the
       If you wish to make public comment on an item on the agenda you can choose
       to make your comment either when the item is heard, or during this allotted
      time. Speaking time is limited to 3 minutes. Please submit written public
      comments no later than 5 p.m. September 14th to

3.    Director’s Update
       a)    Office of Outdoor Recreation (Information)
       b)    Legislative Update (Information)
       c)    Covid-19 Update (Information)
       d)    Out-of-State State Park Rate adjustments (Action)

4.    Budget
       a)    Budget Update (Information)

5.    Property
       a)    Guy Talbot Easement (Action)

6.    Community Engagement
       a)    ATV Highway Access Route Designation in Lakeside 
       b)    Edge Cable Ocean Shore Permit Status (Information)

7.    Heritage
       a)    Heritage Division Updates (Information)

8.    Park Development Division
       a)    Hiker/Biker Pods for Gorge and Coast Donations (Action)
       b)    Ecola, Oregon Coast Trail OCVA Donation/Cooperation
              Update (Information)

9.    Rulemaking

10.  Reports
       a)    Actions Taken Under Delegated Authority
               i)    Contracts and Procurement (Information)
               ii)   Ocean Shores and Scenic Waterway Permits
       b)    Grants Program (Information)

11.  Commission Planning Calendar
       a)    2020 Commission Planning Calendar (Information)
       b)    2021 Commission Planning Calendar (Action)

The services, programs and activities of the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department are covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need special accommodations to participate in this meeting, please contact the commission assistant Denise Warburton at (503) 986-0719 or at least 72 hours prior to the start of the meeting.




Audio 3 hours, 13 minutes



Audio 2 hours, 32 minutes



Audio 3 hours, 14 minutes



Audio 4 hours, 33 minutes



Audio 4 hours, 39 minutes


2020 Meeting Dates and Locations

February - Forest Grove
April - Online (link coming)
June 16-17
September 15-16
November 17-18 
(meeting dates and locations are subject to change)


Congressional District 1:
Jennifer H. Allen, Vice Chair;
Term expires February 2023

Congressional District 2:
Steven Grasty
Term expires May 2021 

Congressional District 3:
Jonathan Blasher
Term expires June 2023

Congressional District 4:
Cal Mukumoto, Chair;
Term expires September 2020

Congressional District 5:
Vicki Berger
Term expires May 2021

East of the Cascades:
Lisa Dawson
Term expires February 2022

West of the Coast Range:
Doug Deur
Term expires May 2021 


Lisa Sumption, Director
Denise Warburton, Executive Assistant to the Director and Commission
725 Summer Street NE, Suite C 
Salem, OR 97301 

Phone: (503) 986-0719 
Fax: (503) 986-0796

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how