The Board may grant a limited permit to practice psychology in the State of Oregon to individuals who possess and have maintained an active license as a psychologist in another jurisdiction in good standing. It is the applicant's responsibility to check permit requirements prior to applying; permit application fees are non-refundable
. See OAR 858-010-0055
There are two types of limited permits:
1) A Visitor’s Permit
is for psychologists licensed in the United States that do not intend to seek full licensure in Oregon and are providing psychological services for a limited, specific purpose
. The permit is valid for no more than 30 days in a 12 month period (the 30 days do not need to be consecutive). You must be actively licensed in another jurisdiction in good standing. You must submit your statement of work and include the following:
- A complete description of the work to be performed, including the purpose;
- The location of the activity;
- The specific dates of the activity (frequency of visits & start/end dates, not to exceed 30 days in a 12 month period); and
- The names of the parties requesting the activity to the extent permissible under confidentiality laws.
Any changes made to this statement must be submitted to the Board's office, including adjustments to dates.
Apply for a Visitor's Permit online via the Applicant Portal
(select "Visitor's Permit" as the Application Type).
Oregon licensees on inactive status are not eligible for a Visitor's Permit.
2) A Temporary Permit
is for approved applicants for full licensure by endorsement. The permit is valid for 90 days, during which time the applicant must take and pass the Oregon Jurisprudence Exam. Those who have not been licensed for at least 5 years in another state must name an Oregon consultant. Applicants who apply under the "Endorsement" application type will have the option to also apply for a Temporary Permit as part of the online application. See Apply for a License
for more information on how to apply via the Endorsement Method.
Visitor's and Temporary Permit holders may access the License Portal
to view their license number and effective dates.