Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Region Transportation Safety Newsletter, August 2014
reg2_header.jpg 
Stop on Red


Red-light running happens frequently and is often deadly. In 2012, 683 people were killed and an estimated 133,000 were injured in crashes that involved red-light running in the U.S. according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

Did You Know?

  • You or your loved ones are more likely to be injured due to a red-light running related crash than any other type of crash.
  • Running a red light or other traffic control is the most common cause of all urban crashes.
  • Someone runs a red light an average of every 20 minutes at urban intersections.
  • Half of the people killed by red-light runners are not the signal violators – they are passengers, other motorists, pedestrians, and cyclists.
  • Nearly 93% of drivers believe running a red light is unacceptable, yet one in three drivers reported doing so in the past 30 days.
  • Red-light runners caught in the act will face a Class B violation and pay a $260 base fine in Oregon.
  • The tragedies resulting from red-light running are preventable!
Tips for Drivers
  • Be prepared to Stop on Red as a driver, cyclist, or pedestrian.
  • Obey speed limits so you have time and space to stop prior to entering the intersection.
  • Look in all directions for red-light runners before proceeding into an intersection.

(Source: FHWA, Red-Light Running FHWA-SA-11-016, July 2014)

Red_TSD5-146.SD Transit 20132.jpg
 

 
Back to School Safety


Summer is winding down, and back-to-school is just around the corner. As parents and kids make their back-to-school purchases, now's the time to plan for dark winter days. Why not buy school supplies and clothes that sport retro reflective material, to make those fall days safer when the time comes? Reflectors of all kinds add little to the cost of clothes, but add big value for safety!

 

 
Click It or Ticket Campaign


There were 997 child passengers under age eight injured or killed last year in Oregon motor vehicle crashes. Twelve of these children were confirmed to be riding totally unrestrained. Among four to eight year olds, one in three was restrained with an adult belt system – by law they should be riding in restraints designed for children.

OSP, sheriffs and local police will be working to increase proper safety belt and child car seat use during a statewide traffic enforcement “blitz” from August 25 through September 7 through a grant provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

Child car seats reduce the likelihood of infants under one year old being killed in a crash by 71 percent and the fatal risk for toddlers aged 1 to 4 by 54 percent.

Oregon law requires children less than forty pounds be restrained in a child seat. Children under one year or weighing less than twenty pounds must be restrained in a rear-facing child seat. A child over forty pounds must be restrained in either a child seat or a booster seat appropriate for their size until they reach age eight or 4’ 9” tall AND the adult belt system fits them correctly. 

For help with child seats, refer to the seat manufacturer’s instructions, vehicle owner’s manual, or your local child seat fitting station. Fitting station locations
 

 

 
National Survey of the Use of Booster Seats


NHTSA has released a report detailing booster seat use in the U.S. In 2000, Congress directed the U.S. DOT to reduce deaths and injuries among 4 to 7 year olds by 25 percent caused by the failure to use booster seats. The latest report details our nation's progress toward that goal. Read the full report (PDF 1MB)

 

 

Motorcycle Traffic Safety Facts


NHTSA has released a fact sheet that summarizes data on motorcyclists who were killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes in 2012 as compared to 2011. In Oregon, motorcyclist fatalities are up nearly 40 percent in comparison to the same period last year. A recent ODOT news release on motorcycle safety provides reminders and tips for everyone traveling on our roads.

 

 

 

Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over


This year’s “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” high-visibility enforcement campaign will run August 15 through September 1, covering the end of summer and the busy Labor Day holiday weekend. This enhanced enforcement is paid for by dedicated funding from USDOT’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

In 2012, Labor Day weekend saw 147 drunk-driving fatalities in the U.S. To put it in perspective, throughout the year someone is killed in an alcohol-impaired-driving crash every 51 minutes. Over the Labor Day weekend, that statistic jumps to one alcohol-impaired-driving fatality every 34 minutes. And not surprisingly, nighttime is the worst, with almost half (46%) of all nighttime traffic fatalities involving a drunk driver.

Plan ahead and designate a safe, sober driver before the holiday. Driving a vehicle or riding a motorcycle while impaired is not worth the risk. And if you see a drunk driver on the road, call 1-800-24-DRUNK. You could save a life.

 

 youtube_volkswagen.jpg



 
Features
 
NHTSA Traffic Safety Fact Sheets
Region 4 (Bend)
 
 
Region 5 (La Grande)
 
 
Links
 
 
Archived Newsletters
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Subscribe

Send your email address by selecting the button below to subscribe to the newsletter.