Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Bicyclist Safety

Program Manager

Julie Yip 
Phone: 503 986-4196
FAX:  503 986-3143 
ODOT - Transportation Safety Division - MS 3
4040 Fairview Industrial Drive SE
Salem, OR 97302-1142
Back to Top

Program Introduction


"Reduce bicyclists killed and injured in motor vehicle crashes from 708, the 5 year average from 2003 to 2007 to 555, a 3% reduction per year by 2015".

The Bicyclist Safety Program encourages bicyclist safety through:

Public information, program information and education programs for targeted audiences School presentations Law Enforcement Training

   Click image to enlarge 

Back to Top

The FAST Act: what’s it all about for Transportation Safety?

The FAST Act (Fixing America’s Surface Transportation Act)
was signed by the President on December 4, 2015, and provides a five-year schedule (2016-2020) for transportation funding to States. Among other efforts, the FAST Act grants qualifying states funding for the purpose of decreasing pedestrian and bicycle fatalities and injuries as a result of motor vehicle crashes.

The FAST Act identifies non-motorized safety program funding within section 405 National Priority Safety Programs. Only states whose combined pedestrian and bicycle fatalities exceed 15 percent of the total annual crash fatalities as shown by the most recently reported final data from the Fatality Analysis Reporting System may apply.

2014 FARS data for Oregon shows that the 64 total bicycle and pedestrian fatalities represent 17.9 percent of the state’s total traffic crash fatalities.

Grant funds may be used on training and awareness of state laws pertaining to pedestrian and bicycle safety for law enforcement, enforcement mobilizations and campaigns, and public education and awareness programs.

Using the Act’s program funding formulas, the Oregon Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Education Programs, if eligible, would receive the following:

                FY2016: $162,073
                FY2017: $163,725
                FY2018: $165,318
                FY2019: $166,970
                FY2020: $168,681

The Federal portion for the cost of a state’s non-motorized project may not exceed 80 percent.

Historically, ODOT-Transportation Safety Division has directed federal transportation safety funds to the Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Education Programs in the amount of $200,000 annually to conduct pedestrian safety enforcement training and mobilizations, and pedestrian and bicyclist public education and awareness programs. It is the intent of the Transportation Safety Division to keep funding at the $200,000 level through 2020, if possible.
Back to Top

Green Light Detection

Many traffic signals in Oregon change only when a vehicle is detected. Sometimes the signal’s detectors do not pick up a bicycle, motorcycle or other small vehicle. A new law (SB 533) goes into effect January 1, 2016, allowing bicycles and motorcycles in limited situations to proceed through a red light after coming to a complete stop and waiting through a signal cycle. 

In the meantime, before the new law comes into effect, you may want to learn how to get the green light. Download our flyer below to learn more about how signal detection systems work and how to make them work for you.

Getting a Green Light on Your Bicycle
Back to Top

Safe Passage

Bright sunny days mean good riding weather for both drivers and people on bikes. ODOT would like to remind drivers to give bicyclists extra room when passing (ORS 811.065).

· At speeds greater than 35 mph, you may only pass a bicycle traveling in your lane if
  you have enough distance to prevent contact with the bicyclist if the rider were to fall.
· The same rules for passing other vehicles apply to bicycles. You may cross the center line if it is
  safe and legal to do so. Return to your lane as soon as it is safely possible.
· If you cannot pass safely, you must slow down and remain behind the bicycle until it is safe to


View the new ODOT 30-second Safe Passage PSA - YouTube


                                       Click the graphics below to view full size

Back to Top

Media and Publications

Share the Road - Large Vehicle/Bike Posters
 (Click images to view full size)


Other Media

  The Bicyclist's Survival Guide                                        The Driver's Field Guide


 Oregon Bicyclist Manual           Selected State Statutes
                                              Presumptive Fine Schedule ORS 153

Bicycle Commuting in Winter

A Perfectly Fitted Bicycle Helmet      
Un Casco de Calce Perfecto

Safe Biking for Kids              Safe Biking - English
   (Activity Book)                  Ciclismo Seguro
                                          Safe Biking - Chinese
                                          Safe Biking - Russian
                                          Safe Biking - Somali
                                          Safe Biking - Vietnamese         
Roundabouts - Another Safe Intersection  (Activity Book)

Lighten Up Poster   
  Lighten Up Poster                       Helmet Poster     

Oregon Pocketbike Guide - (Oregon DMV)

On the Web

A Resident's Guide for Creating Safer Communities for Walking and Biking 
Includes information, ideas, and resources to help residents learn about issues that affect walking and biking conditions; find ways to address or prevent these problems; and promote pedestrian and bicyclist safety. The Guide provides examples from other communities working to improve pedestrian and bicyclist safety and also contains fact sheets, worksheets, and sample materials that can be distributed or adapted to meet the needs of a community. References to other resources and materials are also provided.


Back to Top

Bike Wheels to Steering Wheels

The following files contain the Bike Wheels to Steering Science Curriculum.  It was written by Portland Public School's science curriculum specialists, Wendy Archibald, Tracy Temple, Frank Fields and the Trauma Nurses Talk Tough Program. This project was developed through a grant from the Transportation Safety Division of the Oregon Department of Transportation. (All Rights Reserved)
Parent-Youth Traffic Safety Agreement

Parent-Youth Traffic Safety Agreement (Spanish)

Bike Wheels to Steering Wheels

Bike Wheels to Steering Wheels (Spanish)

Gotta Brain, Get a Helmet

The Physics of Bicycle and Helmet Safety rev. 10/11

Additional Bike Lesson

Back to Top

Questions and Answers

Q:   Is there an Oregon law that addresses bicycle trailers and safety standards?
A:  There is currently no Oregon law that governs the safety of bicycle trailers. Without an Oregon law specifying safety standard guidelines, parents should be looking at manufacturer statements that the product has been designed based on the standards developed by respected test laboratories for non-powered trailers pulled behind bicycles for transport.  As an
example, http://burley.com website has information about trailer safety and testing for their products.
One set of standards for bicycle trailers has been developed by ASTM International, ASTM F1975 -09, Standard Specification for Non-powered Bicycle Trailers Designed for Human Passengers. The following is the abstract from the ASTM website:
“This specification covers non-powered trailers intended to be pulled behind bicycles to transport one or two children with accessory loads with a prescribed maximum weight. It includes methods for strength, impact drop, structural integrity in rollover, tip-over resistance, single-occupant trailer, double-occupant trailer, coupling security, and system fatigue tests. The tests confirm that this specification is satisfied. The specification also prescribes colors, reflectors, and flags for conspicuity.”
ASTM’s standards are used worldwide to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
Parents may also benefit from reviewing respected consumer guides, such as ConsumerReports.org.
Their recommendation is not to purchase a bike trailer or bike seat until the baby is at least one year old. “We don’t recommend bike trailers and bike seats for children younger than one year because they may not be physically equipped to withstand the forces they’ll be exposed to when riding in them. Children younger than one year can’t support their heads properly while wearing a helmet, as all riders should.”
Also, parents should follow the manufacturer’s recommendations regarding the maximum weight, and recommended use of the trailer. 
Q:  At what age must children wear a helmet when riding a bicycle?
A:  Regarding bike helmet use, ORS 814.485 requires a person under16 years of age to wear protective headgear when riding as an operator or rider of a bicycle on a roadway or on premises open to the public. The protective headgear must be the type approved under ORS 815.052, which are helmets for bicyclists that are labeled certifying compliance with U.S. CPSC standards.  Oregon law does not specify a minimum age for when bicycle helmets are required to be worn. 
Back to Top