Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Natural Hair Care

Scope of Practice​

The 2013 Legislature added natural hair care as a field of practice under the Board of Cosmetology. Other fields of practice include barbering, esthetics, hair design and nail technology. Chapter 290 of 2013 Oregon Laws​ provides the adopted text to Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 690.

“Natural hair care” means the braiding, cornrowing, extending, lacing, locking, sewing, twisting, weaving or wrapping of human hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers or hair extensions through the use of hands or simple devices such as clips, combs, hairpins or needle and thread.

Scissors may be used to trim synthetic fibers, hair extensions or sewn-in weave extensions as is necessary to perform natural hair care activities or to make customized wigs from natural hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers or hair extensions.

Natural hair care does not include the use of scissors except when trimming synthetic fibers, hair extensions or sewn-in weave extensions as is necessary to perform natural hair care activities or to make customized wigs from natural hair, natural fibers, synthetic fibers or hair extensions.

Natural hair care also does not include the use of penetrating chemical hair treatments, chemical hair coloring agents, chemical hair straightening agents, chemical hair joining agents, permanent wave styles or chemical hair bleaching agents.
Back to Top

Application Process

An individual applying for a certification in natural hair care must submit:
  1. A completed application form prescribed by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (agency), which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required $20 application and $25 certification fee;
  2. Two pieces of government-issued photo identification, and Social security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification number. View identification requirements
  3. A copy of the Natural Hair Care Certificate of Completion showing proof of having completed the training module for Natural Hair Care. The Certificate of Completion is available at the end of the training module.
  4. Proof of having completed the Natural Hair Care examination.
 
Back to Top

Training Module and Examination​

Natural Hair Care Training Module

The Natural Hair Care Training Module is solely for the purpose of preparing individuals with the necessary information to practice natural hair care in Oregon.  The information was obtained through the Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 817 and Oregon Revised Statues Chapter 690  for cosmetology and the Milady Standard Natural Hair Care and Braiding textbook. Topics within the presentation include licensing and certification, practice standards, facility standards, chemical storage and hair characteristics.

Natural Hair Care Examination

The Natural Hair Care examination is administered on a walk in basis at the agency; Office hours for testing are Monday 9 am–1:30 pm and Tuesday through Friday 8 am–1:30 pm. The examination:

  • consists of 41 multiple-choice questions 
  • requires a passing score of 75 percent or higher 
  • is administered on a walk-in basis at the agency in Salem 

To prepare for the examination thoroughly read the training module regarding natural hair care. Natural Hair Care Examination Blue Print provides an overview of the examination components.

Examination Retake Requirements

Failed Attempt

Timeline & Requirements

First and Second Attempt

May be taken the same day

Third and All Subsequent Attempts

Must wait 7 calendar days

 
*There are no examination fees for Natural Hair Care. View Fees
Back to Top

Business Licensing​

Any practitioner certified in Natural Hair Care is required to work in a licensed facility or outside of a licensed facility with a freelance authorization.  A practitioner may also choose to obtain an independent contractor registration which allows a practitioner to work independent of the facility license holder. 
 
To obtain a facility license an individual must meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30 and submit the following:
  1. Submit a completed application form​ prescribed by the agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required fees;
  2. Proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000​;
  3. A map or directions to the facility if it is located in a rural or isolated area; and
  4. A list of authorization holders providing services in the facility;
  5. The name of facility;
  6. If the facility is not operating under the real and true name the license holder must provide appropriate documentation of being registered with the Secretary of State under ORS 648 including but not limited to a facility operating under a corporation, limited liability corporation or an assumed business name.
To obtain an independent contractor registration an individual meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30 and submit the following:
  1. Submit a completed application form​ prescribed by the agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required fees​;
  2. Proof of being 18 years of age. Documentation may include identification listed under OAR 331-030-0000;
  3. Proof of holding a current, valid practitioner’s certificate in one or more fields of practice which is active with no current or pending disciplinary action;
  4. A current copy of the assumed Business name (ABN) filing if applicant is operating under an assumed business name prior to applying for an independent contractor registration.
To obtain a freelance authorization a practitioner must meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30 and submit the following:
  1. Submit a completed application form​ prescribed by the agency, which must contain the information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required fees​;
  2. Submit two forms of agency approved identification one which is photographic.  The names on the identification must be identical.   Approved forms of identification are listed under OAR 331-030-0000;
  3. A passing score on the Oregon laws and Rules examination within two years before the date of application; and
  4. A current copy of the assumed Business name (ABN) filing if applicant is operating under an assumed business name prior to applying for an independent contractor registration, if the business operates under the real and true name of the owner an ABN filing in not necessary.
Back to Top
The documents listed below are not required for use by an individual certified in Natural Hair Care. They are only suggestions. Please fill free to make them your own by adding your business name and logo.
Back to Top