Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
  • Proposed rule includes discounts on midwifery license fees
    The Health Licensing Office (HLO) has filed proposed administrative rules for the Board of Direct Midwifery regarding discounts in licensing fees.
     
    As of July 1, 2015, the rules as proposed would allow an applicant applying for an original license totaling $800 to be granted a $350 license fee discount for a total cost for the license $450 until July 1, 2019. An application fee of $150 must be paid in order to grant the $350 license fee discount. The license fee discount is available to individuals who meet all application requirements for direct entry midwifery licensure under OAR 332-015-0030 and reside in Oregon. Only applicants who have not held a direct entry midwifery license in Oregon qualify for the
    discount.
     
    As of January 1, 2015, the rules as proposed would allow an applicant applying to renew a license totaling $800 to be granted a $200 discount for a total cost for the license $600 until July 1, 2019. The license fee discount is available to individuals who meet all renewal requirements for direct entry midwifery licensure under OAR 332-020-0000 and reside in Oregon.
     
    A hearing is scheduled for 11 a.m. June 25 in the Health Licensing Office Rhoades Conference Room, 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320, Salem, OR 97301. Administrative rules are scheduled to become permanent and effective in July 2015. Click here to review the proposed rules. The public comment period opens June 1 and runs through 5 p.m. June 28.
     
    If you have questions or need additional information, contact policy analyst Samie Patnode at 503-373-1917 or samie.patnode@state.or.us.
  • Upcoming HLO closures for state holidays

    Mark your calendar and note that the Health Licensing Office (and all State of Oregon agencies) will be closed Friday, July 3 for Independence Day and Monday, Sept. 7 for Labor Day.

    Examinations will not be offered, and licenses will not be issued on these days.

    Our regular office hours are 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays and 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on Tuesdays. Feel free to call 503-378-8667; calls will be returned the next business day. You can also email hlo.info@state.or.us.

  • Are you a traditional midwife in accordance with ORS 687.415?
    What are the exemptions under the new law?
    On January 1, 2015, new Board of Direct Entry Midwifery (Board) law (Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 687.415 goes into effect that requires persons performing midwifery duties in Oregon to be licensed by the State of Oregon unless:
    • The person is already licensed as a health care professional with midwifery duties within the scope of the license; or
    • The person is a traditional midwife.
     
    What are the criteria to be considered a traditional midwife?
    According to ORS 687.415 a traditional midwife:
    Cannot use legend drugs and devices which require a license in Oregon
    Cannot advertise as a midwife
    Must provide a Board approved disclosure statement to every client
     
  • Expedited licensing available for military

    Permanent administrative rules became effective on September 17, 2014, allowing for an expedited process for individuals who have military training or experience for an authorization to practice a profession listed under ORS 676.583 or ORS 676.800.

    Permanent administrative rules became effective on September 17 allowing for an expedited process to obtain an authorization to practice for military spouses or domestic partners as required by 2013 House Bill 2027.

    Application for Authorization to Practice/Military Training or Experience Equivalency  PDF
    Application for Authorization to Practice/Military Spouse or Domestic Partner  PDF
HLO Resources Current Topics

Online License Renewal

Renew computerIt's secure, speedy and saves you a stamp! HLO's online renewal feature is part of our ongoing efforts to provide customer service excellence and a streamlined regulatory environment.

Consumers Find Help at HLO

Consumer HelpIf you can't resolve a problem or issue with a practitioner of one of the health and related professions HLO regulates, we can help. 

Check a License Holder's Status

Oregon License
Check our online database or to see if a professional is licensed or has been subject to disciplinary action (license suspension, probation or revocation).

Search Statewide Licensing Database

Find information and requirements for all Oregon licenses, certifications, permits and registrations in a single source, including those not overseen by the Health Licensing Office.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Board Recruitment

 
Are you interested in serving as a volunteer citizen board member? HLO-regulated boards seek new members as current board member terms expire. 
 

Stay Informed: Get on th​​e HLO Contact List

Professions
Stay updated on developments of the Health Licensing Office (HLO) and regulated professions by signing up to receive updates on licensing and regulatory issues, including meeting notices. 

Flu Facts: Get Informed, Stay​ Healthy 

Flu
Protect yourself, your family and your co-workers by getting vaccinated and staying informed. The fewer of us who get sick from either seasonal influenza or pandemic H1N1 influenza, the more we can reduce the impact in our schools and workplaces. Visit the state's flu website or call the state hotline at 1-800-978-3040.

Licensees of Four HLO Boards​ Must Report Prohibited Conduct

Report
As the result of the passage of House Bill 2059 in the 2009 session of the Oregon State Legislature, licensees of certa​in state licensing boards and four boards overseen by the Health Licensing Office (HLO) must report unprofessional or prohibited conduct of other licensees.