Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Administrator-in-Training (AIT) Program
Supervised Training
AIT
  • The AIT program consists of 960 hours of training under the supervision of a preceptor.

  • An AIT program applicant must apply for and be granted registration prior to beginning the AIT program.

  • An AIT must complete the AIT program in no less than six months and no more than two years after beginning the program. An AIT failing to complete the program within two years after beginning the program must reapply and, if accepted, must begin the program again.

  • Neither AIT registration nor acceptance into an AIT program authorizes an AIT registrant to practice or offer to practice as a nursing home administrator or to use the title of or abbreviations for Nursing Home Administrator. An AIT registrant engaging in such conduct may be disqualified from all or part of the training program.

 
AIT Training Packet
The AIT training packets includes the following:
  • Program Information

  • Goals & Guidelines

  • Training Forms

  • Certificate of Training

  • Tracking Tool

  • Examination Information

AIT Training Packet - PDF

Examination Information

 

 

 

 
Waivers
AIT applicants may apply for a waiver of up to 80 hours of the AIT program pertaining to resident care and quality of life if the AIT submits:
  • Proof of current CNA certification with no current or pending disciplinary actions and with no fines, fees, or civil penalties currently owing. Applicants must submit an affidavit of licensure.

  • A certificate of completion from a CNA program within the last two years preceding the date of registration application
AIT applicants may apply for a waiver of up to 160 hours of the AIT program pertaining to resident care and quality of life if the AIT:
  • Submits proof of current licensure as a LPN or RN in a long-term care facility, with no current or pending disciplinary actions and with no fines, fees, or civil penalties currently owing; and

  • Has three years of experience within the last five years as a LPN or RN in a long-term care facility. Applicants must submit an affidavit of licensure
Applicants may apply for a waiver only for one of the categories above, not both. 
 
Waiver Request Form
 
Preceptor Registration
Applicants for preceptor registration must:
  • Hold a current Oregon nursing home administrator license with no current or pending disciplinary action, and with no fines, fees, or civil penalties

  • Have been a licensed nursing home administrator for the least three years

  • Have attended a board-approved workshop for preceptors in Oregon within three years preceding the date of application for registration.

  • For a preceptor registered before January 1, 2012 the preceptor must attend a board-approved workshop for preceptors in Oregon by December 31, 2012.

  • A preceptor must attend a board-approved workshop for preceptors in Oregon every three years.
The following organizations offer preceptor training:

 
Preceptor Requirements
A registered preceptor must:
  • Provide the AIT a minimum of four hours per month of in-person consultation regarding the strengths, progress, and competency development needs of the AIT, and to suggest methods of improvement. In-person consultation must be documented on a form prescribed by the agency.

  • Train only one AIT at any one time

  • Sign the Certificate of Training completion forms

  • Both the AIT and preceptor registrants must notify the agency of any discontinuation of, change or interruptions in the AIT program.

 
For More Information
FMI
Please click on the links below for information on licensing fees, application forms for licensure and identification requirements.

Click here to go to the Fees page. 
 
Click here to go to the Forms page.
 
Click here to access Identification Requirements.