Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Sex Offender Treatment in Oregon

Professional Scope

Sex offender therapist  
Clinical sex offender therapists provide services for the treatment and rehabilitation of sex offenders. They must have a minimum of a master's degree in the behavioral sciences and an active Oregon mental health professional license, or equivalent, to be certified in Oregon.
 
Associate sex offender therapists provide services for the treatment and rehabilitation of sex offenders. They must have a minimum of a bachelor's degree in the behavioral sciences and be under the direct supervision of a clinical sex offender therapist to be certified in Oregon.

Back to Top

Authorizing Statutes & Rules

Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) Chapter 675.360-410 (Scroll down to find the correct ORS section.)
Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 331, Divisions 800-850 (Scroll down until reaching Divisions 800-850.)
 
Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA) statutes and administrative rules relate to overarching procedural, administrative, licensing and regulatory compliance requirements for all OHLA-regulated professions.  More information
Back to Top

Certification Information

Certification / Renewal Period: Two years
 
Certification / Service Fees
Fees
 
Application Materials
Forms
Back to Top

Certification Counts

How many certified sex offender therapists are there in Oregon? Click here to find out.

Back to Top

Qualifications

Clinical sex offender therapists must have a minimum of a master's degree in the behavioral sciences and an active Oregon mental health professional license, or equivalent, to be certified in Oregon.
 
They are also required to have had a minimum of 2,000 hours of direct clinical contact with sex offenders within not less than three years nor more than six years prior to application. Clinical contact includes:
  • 1,000 hours of direct treatment services
  • 500 hours of evaluations
  • A minimum of 60 hours of formal training applicable to sex offender treatment and evaluation, achieved within the three years prior to application
Associate sex offender therapists must have a minimum of a bachelor's degree in the behavioral sciences and be under the direct supervision of a clinical sex offender therapist to be certified in Oregon. They are also required to have had:
  • A minimum of 1,000 hours of direct clinical contact with sex offenders
  • A minimum of 30 hours of formal training applicable to sex offender treatment, achieved within the three years prior to application
Back to Top

Use of Certified Title

Only professionals certified may represent themselves as a certified clinical sex offender therapist or certified associate sex offender therapist.
 
Nothing under current statute or administrative rule is intended to limit or prevent the practice of an individual’s profession or to restrict a person from providing counseling or therapy if the individual does not represent to the public by title that the individual is a certified sex offender therapist.
Back to Top