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Sex Offender Therapists

Clinical sex offender therapists and associate sex offender therapists provide
services for the treatment and rehabilitation of sex offenders.

Qualifications

Clinical sex offender therapists must have a minimum of a
master's degree in the behavioral sciences and an active
Oregon mental health professional license, or equivalent, to be
certified in Oregon.

They are also required to have had a minimum of 2,000 hours The Sex Offender
of direct clinical contact with sex offenders within not less than Treatggcizzg%rg)]fessz; ?
thre(_a years nor more than si>_< years prior to specific expertise to the
application. Clinical contact includes: Oregon Health Licensing

e 1,000 hours of direct treatment services Agency (OHLA).

e 500 hours of evaluations

¢ A minimum of 60 hours of formal training applicable to sex offender treatment
and evaluation, achieved within the three years prior to application

Associate sex offender therapists must have a minimum of a bachelor's degree in
the behavioral sciences and be under the direct supervision of a clinical sex offender
therapist to be certified in Oregon. They are also required to have had:

e A minimum of 1,000 hours of direct clinical contact with sex offenders

e A minimum of 30 hours of formal training applicable to sex offender treatment,
achieved within the three years prior to application

Grandfathering Provision: Sex offender therapists without active mental health
licensure may obtain clinical-level certification through a time-limited grandfathering
provision. Visit www.oregon.qov/OHLA/SOTB for more information.

Authorizing Laws & Rules: This program exists under the regulatory oversight
of the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA). Sex Offender Treatment Board
(SOTB) profession-specific statutes (ORS 675.360-410) and administrative rules
(OAR Chapter 331, Divisions 800-850) link to OHLA's overarching statutes (ORS
676.600-992) and rules (OAR 331, Divisions 1-30) for all OHLA-regulated professions.
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For more information, visit www.oregon.gov/OHLA/SOTB
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