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HAVE YOU RENEWED YOUR LICENSE?    
 

All practicing therapists must hold a valid license with an   
 

   Expiration Date of  MARCH 31, 2012   
 

If you are unsure if your license is current, please check the Board website: 
www.ptboard.state.or.us under the heading online  verifications.  If you find that 
your license has lapsed  and you have been treating patients, stop practicing              
immediately and contact the Board office.  If you have not practiced since your 
license lapsed  and you wish to renew, you may renew online and pay the      
applicable renewal fee and late charge. 

 

 

CE REMINDER FOR RENEWAL IN 2012    
 

Upon license renewal in 2012, all licensees will have to attest to the completion 

of continuing education completed during the certification period of             

April 1, 2010 through March 31, 2012. Here are some helpful planning tips: 

 

 PTs initially licensed before April 1, 2011 will need to complete 24 hours and 

PTAs will need to complete 12 hours. 
 

 All licensees initially licensed after April 1, 2011 will need to complete only 

1/2 of the required CE. Courses taken anytime during the certification period 

(4/1/2010 to 3/31/2012) can be applied, even if you were not yet  licensed 

in Oregon when you completed the course. 
 

 Licensees initially licensed between April 1, 2008 and March 31, 2010 will 

have to attest to completion of 7 hours of CE relating to pain management 

(6 hrs + 1 hr online course offered by the Oregon Pain Commission). You 

may go to the  online verification tab on the Board website to find your     

initial licensure date.  The continuing education tab on the Board website      

contains more information on this requirement and a link to the online pain 

course.   
 

 Oregon does not pre-approve CE courses.  If a course is listed as approved 

by another state, or by a recognized professional organization (such as the 

APTA), it will count for CE credit in Oregon. 
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MANDATORY REPORTING OF CHILD ABUSE                 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

The Board receives many inquiries about mandatory reporting of child abuse and domestic violence.  PT’s are not 

mandatory reporters of domestic violence, however, as of January 1, 2010, physical therapists are mandatory reporters 

of suspected cases of child abuse and subject to prosecution for failure to report (ORS 419B.005).  Individuals making 

a report in good faith based on reasonable grounds are protected from any liability, civil or criminal, that might         

otherwise be incurred with respect to making the report.   
 

 Mandatory reporters are required to report child abuse wherever and whenever they observe it.  Not just in the 

clinical setting.  

 Reports must be made immediately to the local or state office of Child Protective Services or law enforcement.  

 Initial reports can be made over the phone. Look in the White Pages or online under Oregon State Government, 

Department of Human Services, Community/Human Services, Child Welfare, Child Abuse Hotline. 
 

“Abuse” of a child means: 

 Any assault of a child or any physical injury to a child which has been caused by other than accidental means, or 

that appears at variance with the explanation of the injury. 

 Mental injury which causes observable and substantial impairment of the child’s mental or psychological ability to 

function caused by cruelty to the child. 

 Rape of a child, including sodomy, unlawful sexual penetration and incest. 

 Sexual abuse, which is sexual contact or touching of intimate parts of a child or causing the child to touch the     

sexual or intimate parts of the actor for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire. 

 Sexual exploitation, which includes contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor and any other conduct which 

allows, employs, authorizes, permits, induces or encourages a child to engage in the performing for people to    

observe, photograph or film sexual contact, sexual abuse or rape of a child. 

 Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child, including failure to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter or 

medical care that is likely to endanger the health and welfare of the child 

 Permitting a person under 18 years of age to enter or remain in or upon premises where methamphetamines are 

made. 

 Unlawful exposure to a controlled substance that subjects a child to substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or 

safety 

The Department of Human Services (DHS) maintains a website with more information about how and where to report 

abuse:  http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/children/abuse/cps/report.shtml.   DHS also has a video that is good for in-service 

training on the issue of mandatory child abuse reporting: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/abuse/main.shtml 

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING HEARING  
 

 By Statute, the Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board is required to adopt its operating budget 
by rule on a biennial basis. The Board intends to hold an Administrative Rule Hearing on Friday, June 10, 
2011 for the purpose of adopting the Board’s 2011-2013 budget.    
 

 The Public Hearing will be held at 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland, Oregon in Room 1-D, and will    
begin at 8:30 AM. You may obtain copies of the Hearing Notice, the Fiscal Impact Statement and the         
proposed rule text changes by contacting the Board office at (971) 673.0203, or by clicking on the link 
marked “Proposed Rules Changes” in the right hand navigation bar of the Board website: 
 

www.ptboard.state.or.us 
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NAME &  

LICENSE  NO.  

DATE OF 

ACTION 

ACTION TAKEN 

 

REASON FOR  

DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

Richard Shortall, PT      

License # 4990 

02/16/2011 FINAL ORDER BY DEFAULT:                  

Revocation of License 

Failure to cooperate                        

with an order of the Board 

Andre Tate, PT               

License # 5285 

04/26/2011 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER:                                

$1000 civil penalty and 3 years probation    

Failure to cooperate                            

with an order of the Board 

William Hogg, PT          

License # 2367 

04/29/2011 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER:                                

$1000 civil penalty  

Practicing without a valid license for 

a period of 11 months 

Deborah Stamper, PT    

License # 1887 

04/21/2011 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER:                                

$100 civil penalty  

Practicing without a valid license for 

a period of less than 1 month 

Gavin Kleiman, PT        

License # 4847 

05/09/2011 STIPULATION AND FINAL ORDER:                                

$100 civil penalty  

Practicing without a valid license for 

a period of less than 1 month 

 

 
DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS  

REQUEST FROM THE FSBPT  

(Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy) 
 

 The FSBPT has begun a project to update the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for both 

PTs and PTAs.   This practice analysis occurs approximately every 5 years. The project goal is to update the 

content outline for the PT and PTA examinations so that they  continue to test knowledge currently required for 

safe and effective patient care by entry-level therapists.  
 

 Recently, the FSBPT mailed out surveys to a random sample of about 18,000 PTs and PTAs throughout 

the United States. The surveys were sent to therapists working in a variety of settings and with various years of     

practice. 
 

 If you received a survey from the FSBPT, they are urging you to participate. These survey results are 

the building blocks for developing new content for the NPTE, so every response is valuable.  The FSBPT is            

especially urging newly-practicing therapists to complete the survey, as this group had a low response rate to the 

last practice analysis survey in 2006.  

Goodbye and Thank You to Joana Freedman, PT 
 

This June, after 8 years of dedicated service, Board Chair, Joana Freedman, PT        

completes her maximum allowable 2 terms as a Board member. The Board thanks Joana 

for her years of  dedicated service to the Board, the profession and the public.   
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