Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Entertainment Registration Application

For short term employment of minors in the entertainment industry

Employers who contemplate employing minors in the entertainment industry in more than one production in "short term" employment (five working days or less) may submit a completed application (see below) for an annual Registration to Employ Minors in the Entertainment Industry. This registration takes the place of the "regular" employment certificate as well as any permits for employees under 14 years of age.
The advantage of "registering" as an entertainment employer is that the employer is not required to obtain "short duration" or "under 14" permits for each and every production so long as employment will not extend beyond five working days.

Instead, a registered employer notifies the Child Labor Unit by letter, in person, by telephone or fax at least 24 hours in advance of when they propose employing minors in short term employment. This notification must include:
  • the approximate number of minors to be employed;
  • the approximate ages of minors to be employed;
  • a description of the duties to be performed by the minors;
  • the approximate hours the minors will work;
  • the dates the minors are to be employed;
  • the physical location where the work is to be performed. 
Note: Registration does not cover "long term" productions (more than five working days). Registered employers employing minors in long term employment must comply with the "regular" employment certificate/under 14 permit requirements.
Registration certificates for short term employment of minors in entertainment expire on June 30 of each year and must be renewed by July 1.

Employment of minors in violation of Oregon law may result in the imposition of substantial penalties.