Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Trainings for employers

We provide trainings and seminars for Oregon employers, supervisors, managers, and human resource professionals.

Our trainers work closely with bureau enforcement divisions to provide you with educational seminars that cover the latest developments in employment law.

BOLI seminars are an effective and proactive way to help keep your organization in compliance with labor laws. Check out detailed descriptions of our seminar offerings (public seminars and potential customized trainings). Or scroll down for information on our upcoming training schedule.

If you are looking for sector-specific trainings, please visit Prevailing Wage Seminars or Trainings for Apprenticeship Programs.

Seminar schedule

Upcoming seminar dates, titles, descriptions, locations, times, check-in time, and the cost are listed for each event in the calendar. To register, select an event, select the "Register" link, and fill out the online registration form.

Registration includes training materials. In an effort provide the most useful materials to you with a minimum of paper waste, Employer Assistance will forward the PowerPoint presentation and any supplemental or reference materials by email as a PDF two days prior your training event. A hard copy of the presentation will also be available on the day of the event in a “three up” format only. The “three up” format provides three slides and space for notes on each slide, but may not be as easy to read as the electronic PDF. Hard copies of any supplemental or reference materials will not be provided.

If you have any questions, please contact us at 971-358-3942 or email or

We reserve the right to make changes to our seminar schedule at any time. These changes may include, but are not limited to, additions, cancellations, and/or location changes. Every attempt will be made to keep registrants apprised of any changes that might affect their ability to attend.

We do not have the ability to make changes, corrections, or transfers in our online registration system. Please be sure you are registering for a seminar that you can attend and the information that you enter is accurate. All cancellations will incur a $25 processing fee even if it is to correct an error.

Virtual and on-site training and consultations

We also offer training direct to your business both virtually and on-site at your business location. Contact an Employer Assistance trainer at 971-361-8400 to set up management or employee training on location. On-site seminars are $275 an hour with a two-hour minimum--a cost-effective way to train your entire staff on important workplace issues like fair employment rights or sexual harassment.

There are many benefits of an on-site program. Training can save your company time and money by helping you learn how to avoid inadvertent violations of wage and hour and civil rights law. Our programs are tailored to focus on issues that specifically meet the training needs of your company. Finally, the time and location can be chosen by you to minimize travel costs and maximize employee participation.

Here are some of the topics we can cover:
  • Effective supervision
  • Applying state and federal disability laws
  • Writing company policies
  • Wage and hour law including payroll, hours worked, employee classification and final paychecks
  • Predictive scheduling
  • Pay equity law
  • Fair employment practices, including civil rights law and preventing sexual harassment and discrimination
  • Hiring the fair and legal way
  • Employee discipline and termination
  • Coaching for success
  • Family leave and sick leave including state and federal laws, eligibility and reinstatement rights

Detailed descriptions of these offerings are available here.

On-site fees

On-site training sessions are $275 per hour. For seminars held within the Portland metropolitan area, a two-hour minimum charge applies. For trainings held more than 50 miles from our Portland headquarters, there is a four-hour minimum charge per day and a fee of $50 per hour to cover staff travel time. When an overnight stay is required, charges for meals and lodging at the state's per diem rate also apply.

Payment is required within 10 business days after confirmation of the training, or 10 business days before the training, whichever is sooner. A full refund of charges is available for cancellations 10 business days ahead of the seminar. For cancellations with less notice, 50 percent of the seminar charge is refundable.
Call 971-361-8400 to schedule your company's training session or for more information.

Continuing education / recertification credit

The following seminars and webinars are approved for Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) recertification for PHR, SPHR and GPHR and Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) recertification for Professional Development Credits (PDCs) SHRM-CP® or SHRM-SCP® The New Supervisor Training Series is not preapproved for recertification credits for PHR, SPHR and GPHR through the HRCI or (PDCs) SHRM-CP® or SHRM-SCP®:

  • Documentation Discipline & Discharge
  • Employee Handbooks
  • Legal Hiring
  • Legislative updates
  • Workplace Drug and Alcohol Issues
  • Workplace Harassment & Discrimination
  • Advanced Leave Laws
  • Leave Law Basics
  • Life of a Worker's Comp Claim
  • Recordkeeping Requirements
  • Wage and Hour Laws
  • Employee Supervision
  • Leave Laws in Oregon
  • New Laws Overview webinars

Landscape contractors

All of our public BOLI seminars have been approved for continuing education hours (CEH) credit by the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board.

Behavioral health workers

Mental Health & Addiction Certification Board of Oregon will accept BOLI seminars as renewal CEUs for any of its17,000 certified behavioral health workers. While most of these courses can be only used to meet ethics renewal requirements, some may also be used for the behavioral health education requirements.

  • Documentation Discipline & Discharge (Ethics)
  • Employee Handbooks (Ethics)
  • Legal Hiring (Ethics)
  • Legislative updates (Ethics)
  • Workplace Drug and Alcohol Issues (Behavioral Health Education / Ethics)
  • Workplace Harassment & Discrimination (Ethics)
  • Advanced Leave Laws (Ethics)
  • Leave Law Basics (Ethics)
  • Life of a Worker's Comp Claim (Ethics)
  • Recordkeeping Requirements (Ethics)
  • Wage and Hour Laws (Ethics)
  • Employee Supervision (Behavioral Health Education / Ethics)
  • Leave Laws in Oregon (Ethics)
  • New Laws Overview webinars (Ethics)