An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
As your business grows, you’ll probably need the extra capacity, energy and expertise that bringing on employees can provide.
On the flip side, employment is a responsibility that comes with legal obligations. A misstep here could result in a complaint or lawsuit around issues like discrimination, failure to provide leave or other required accommodations, unpaid wages and more.
Scroll through our checklist for helping you to safely navigate the road to becoming an Oregon employer.
Requirements on regular paydays, final pay, minimum wage, overtime and working conditions requirements like rest and meal periods generally apply to all employers.
anti-discrimination and harassment provisions prohibit employment decisions based on protected classes like age, race, religion and sex (including sexual orientation and gender).
Reasonable safety accommodations for victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking (and coming January 1, 2024: bias crimes).
Oregon employers must provide
reasonable rest periods to express breast milk for a child up to 18 months of age. Employers must also make reasonable efforts to provide an appropriate location to express milk in private. That means a place other than a public restroom or toilet stall, close to the employee's workstation concealed from view and without intrusion. (Employers with 10 or fewer employees may assert an undue hardship exemption.)
Paid Leave Oregon provides wage replacement benefits and job protected time for medical leave, family leave and safe leave.
sick leave. The time is unpaid unless an employer has six or more employees anywhere in Oregon and a Portland establishment (or 10 or more anywhere in the state).
Paid protected sick leave is required for employers with an establishment in Portland and six or more employees.
Disability Accommodations – employers have an obligation to engage in an interactive process to identify reasonable accommodations to allow an employee with a disability to perform the essential functions of their position. Check our
accommodations took kit online.
Among other possibilities, reasonable accommodations could include:
Modification of work schedules or job assignments.
Workers Compensation law requires employers with six or more employees to reemploy a
returning injured worker to a suitable available position.
Paid protected sick leave. The time is unpaid unless an employer has 10 or more anywhere in the state (six or more employees anywhere in Oregon if the employer also has a Portland establishment).
Workers Compensation law requires employers with 21 or more employees to reinstate a
returning injured worker to their former position.
Job protected leave under the
Oregon Family Leave Act, including time for serious health conditions, bereavement and sick child leave.
Job protected time (up to 14 days) for the spouse or domestic partner of a service member who has been called to active duty or is on leave from active duty.
Job protected leave under the federal
Family and Medical Leave Act, including time for serious health conditions and military caregiver leave.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how