Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Climate Friendly and Equitable Communities

An image depicting an urban environment with people using different forms of transportation

Oregon is striving to meet statutory goals and policy to reduce climate pollution, including the roughly 36% of climate pollution that comes from transportation. Unfortunately, Oregon is off-track in our efforts to reduce how often and how far Oregonians have to drive to meet their daily needs.

As part of the state’s efforts to course correct, the Department of Land Conservation and Development went through a two-year rulemaking process referred to as Climate-Friendly and Equitable Communities (CFEC). After that process, the Land Conservation and Development Commission significantly updated Oregon’s administrative rules on housing (Division 8), transportation planning (Division 12), and greenhouse gas reduction targets (Division 44) within Oregon’s eight metropolitan areas.

The program:

  • Expands requirements for scenario planning to meet the state's greenhouse gas reduction targets
  • Reduces some transportation planning requirements and include other new and expanded requirements for preparing local Transportation System Plans
  • Requires cities and counties to reform parking regulations
  • Requires 15 communities to identify Climate Friendly Areas that allow for the development of compact, mixed-use neighborhoods served with high quality walking, bicycling and transit infrastructure and services
This TSP Guidelines website has been updated to reflect the changes to Division 12 (the “Transportation Planning Rule" or “TPR") that resulted from the CFEC program. Throughout the guidance you will see distinctions for “metropolitan areas" that are impacted by the CFEC rulemaking and “non-metropolitan areas" for which the TSP Guidance is largely unchanged since the last update in 2020. The eight areas covered by the updated rules are Albany, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene/Springfield, Grants Pass, Medford/Ashland, Portland Metro, and Salem/Keizer metropolitan areas.
  We want to hear from you! Submit TSP Guidelines Feedback
Close Close