In Oregon, there is a one-time mandatory
7 hours of CE on Pain Management for new Occupational Therapists due within 2
years of licensure. This includes a mandatory 1-hour free pain
management module plus 6 additional hours on pain.
This is a legislative requirement of certain health professionals in Oregon. The
2007 legislature passed a bill adding Occupational Therapists (OT's and OTA's) to
the list of health care professionals that the Pain Management Commission
requires to have one time Pain Management CE.
Go to the Pain Commission for more information:
Link to the required Pain Management module:
Providers from the Pain Commission website that provide the 6 additional hrs on pain management.
The Oregon Pain Management Commission is not affiliated with and does not provide oversight of any training listed below.
Ongoing CEU Opportunities
March 16, 2019 ASHT Traveling course on Pain Management:
"Beating Pain: What Can A Hand
Presented by Tara Packham, OTReg(Ont), PhD: https://www.asht.org/education/events/%E2%80%9Cbeating-pain%E2%80%9D-traveling-course-%E2%80%93-portland-or
Health & Sciences University
Portland, OR 97239
Link to IASP Curriculum Outline on Pain for Occupational
certificates so you have them if you are audited for CE.
Pain CE classes on the Pain commission web site count including online classes.
· This is
a one-time requirement.
· The 7
hours is included in the required 30 points of CE required for renewals.
· All new
applicants have two years to complete the requirement. We will check
at the next renewal period to confirm the Pain requirement is done.
· Pain CE
taken as a student does not count - you must be a licensed OT or OTA and complete the
you complete the requirement send an e-mail to OTLB.Info@state.or.us giving
the name of the class(es) you took, and date completed, the number of CE points
and who it was given by. We will record the information in the
database and send you back a confirmation that you have completed the one-time