Due to the risks of exposure to COVID-19, the Occupational Therapy Licensing board has filed temporary rules to waive the fingerprinting requirement for new applicants, effective April 8 - August 31, 2020. In lieu of the FP background check, the board will run LEDS checks during this time.
Reinstatement of Lapsed License
675.290 Any license that is not renewed before June 1 of even-numbered years, or before such date as may be specified by board rule, shall automatically lapse. The board may revive and renew any lapsed license upon payment to it of a deliquent fee in the amount of $50. However, late renewal of a license may not be granted more than three years after its expiration.
· Activate your account in the License Portal.
To activate your account: (you only need to do this once).
1. Click on the License Portal link:
2. Click “Activate Now" at the bottom of the screen.
3. Enter the Email Address that you have on file with the board, your Birth Date and your Oregon License number. If you do not have your license number you can find it on the Licensee Look Up on the home page of the OTLB website.
4. Check your email inbox to retrieve your temporary password. (If you do not receive it after 5 minutes, please check your spam folder).
5. Return to the Licensee Portal login page and login with your temporary password.
6. Remember to record your login for future renewals and to make any updates.
· Once you have logged into the License Portal, click on "Lapsed License Renewal"
If your Pain Management is due you'll need to click on Pain Management tab on the Left side of the screen and enter the courses as follows:
Enter the Pain Management Module by clicking on the OHA Pain Management Module button at the top and enter the date you took the course.
Enter the 6 additional hours on Pain by clicking"Other" at the top. Enter the course(s) name, date it was taken, the number of hours and who it was given by. You must enter at least 6 hours to complete the requirement.
The click on "License Renewal" on the left hand side of the screen. Press "Start" to proceed through the steps to renew your Lapsed License.
Note: You are required to complete the legislatively mandated OHA Workforce Questionnaire. Your License will not be reinstated until it is completed.
For OT’s:The current two-year fee is $200+$40 ($150+ $50 late
fee + $40 fingerprint background check fee) = $200,
good through May 31, 2022.
For OTA’s:The current two-year fee is $150+$40 ($100+$50 late
fee+$40 fingerprint background check fee) = $150,
good through May 31, 2022.
Have state verification(s) sent from any
state you were licensed and worked.
Complete the Board's Law/Ethics exam.
The required Pain Management CE is due for those who have not yet completed it.
You must have 30 points of CE within the last two years or be current on your NBCOT
OTA’s must file with the Board, your OT Supervisor with
the Board prior to starting work. This is done by entering the name of the OT in the License Portal. The OT will be sent an email and must log in the License Portal to confirm that they are supervising the OTA.
- Schedule an appointment with Fieldprint: www.FieldprintOregon.com /Toll free phone: (877)614-4364. Click the 'Schedule an Appointment' button. Enter an email address under 'New Users/Sign Up' and click the 'Sign Up' button. Follow the instructions for creating a Password and Security Question and click 'Sign Up and Continue.
You will need to provide Field print with the OT Board agency code FPOccuTheraLicBd in order to make an appointment. This directs the results back to the Oregon OT Licensing Board.
Enter the contact and demographic information required by the FBI and schedule a fingerprint appointment at the location of your choosing.
At the end of the process, print the Confirmation Page. Take the confirmation page with you to the fingerprint appointment, along with two forms of identification.
Please note: If a past arrest does show up on the fingerprint FBI background check and you do not check “Yes” to the question regarding arrest history, your application automatically must go in front of the full board. Since the board meets quarterly, this may result in waiting a longer period-of-time for your license than if you disclosed the arrest on your application. Many applicants will confuse “dismissed” cases with “expunged”. Dismissed cases will still show up on the background check.
If you have not been licensed for three years or more in any state, then you must complete a Re-Entry program or retake the NBCOT examination. For additional information, contact the Director by calling the office at 971-673-0198 or by e-mail at OTLB.Info@state.or.us.