Skip to main content

How to Obtain Registration Relief

You can only obtain registration relief if:
  • You were adjudicated for a Class A or B felony, and at least two years have passed since you were released from the juvenile court’s jurisdiction and from OYA supervision.
  • You were adjudicated for a Class C felony and you are within 30 days of being released from the juvenile court’s jurisdiction and from OYA supervision.
To obtain registration relief, you must file a petition in the juvenile court in which you were adjudicated. This requires a fee, which varies from court to court. 

The court will hold a hearing on your request, usually between 90 and 150 days after the petition is filed.

If your request is denied, you must continue registering as a sex offender. You cannot appeal the decision.

If your request for relief is approved, you must send a certified (original) copy of the court order to the Oregon State Police at:

Oregon State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit
3565 Trelstad Ave.
Salem, OR 97317

Relief from registration does not remove the offense from your record. It just means that you no longer have to register as a sex offender.

For youth convicted as adult:


To ask for relief from registration as a sex offender, you must file a petition through the court in which you were convicted. You may hire an attorney to help with the process. You will be responsible for any court fees and legal costs.

There are three classification levels for people sentenced as adults in Oregon for a sex offense. Your level is decided by the Oregon Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision.

Your classification determines what type of relief for which you're eligible:

  • Level One: If you are a Level One sex offender, you may ask for relief from registration 10 years after supervision for your sex crime ends.
  • Level Two: If you are a Level Two sex offender, you may ask to be moved from Level Two to Level One 10 years after supervision for your sex crime ends. If you move to Level One, you may ask for relief from registration 5 years after you become a Level One sex offender.
  • Level Three: If you are a Level Three sex offender, you may ask to be moved from Level Three to Level Two 10 years after supervision for your sex crime ends. You are not eligible for reclassification below Level Two. You must continue to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life.

Contact

Oregon Youth Authority
503-373-7205

Oregon State Police Sex Offense Registry Unit
503-934-1258
sexoffender.questions@state.or.us
Sex Offender Registration webpage

Oregon Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision webpage

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×