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Who may sign a death certificate? 
 

This memo will respond to questions as to whether or not an embalmer, embalmer apprentice, death care 

consultant or funeral service practitioner apprentice may sign a death certificate.  The answer is, no.  As 

demonstrated by the plain language in the legal authorities cited below, only an Oregon licensed funeral 

service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner may sign a death certificate. 

 

The definite of a person acting as a funeral service practitioner is defined in statute as follows: 

 

ORS 432.005 Definitions. 

 

 (11) "Person acting as a funeral service practitioner” means:  

  (a) A person other than a funeral service practitioner licensed under ORS 692.045, including but not 

limited to a relative, friend or other interested party, who performs the duties of a funeral service 

practitioner without payment; or  

  (b) A funeral service practitioner who files death certificates in another state if the funeral service 

practitioner is employed by a funeral establishment licensed in another state and registered with 

the State Mortuary and Cemetery Board under ORS 692.270. 

 

Legal Authorities: 

 

ORS 432.307 Compulsory filing of death certificates; persons required to file. 

 

 (2) The funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner who first assumes 

custody of the dead body shall submit the certificate of death. The funeral service practitioner or 

person acting as a funeral service practitioner shall obtain the personal data from the next of kin or the 

best qualified person or source available and shall obtain the medical certification from the person 

responsible therefor. The funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner 

shall provide the certificate of death containing information as specified by rule to identify the 

decedent to the certifier within 48 hours after death. 

 

ORS 432.317 Report upon receipt of body or fetus; authorization for final disposition; rules.  

 

 (1) The funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner who first assumes 

possession of a dead body or fetus shall make a written report to the county registrar in the county in 

which death occurred or in which the body or fetus was found within 24 hours after taking possession 

of the body or fetus. The report shall be on a form prescribed and furnished by the State Registrar of 

the Center for Health Statistics and in accordance with rules adopted by the Oregon Health Authority. 

 (2) Prior to final disposition of the body, the funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral 

service practitioner who first assumes custody of a dead body shall, prior to final disposition of the 

body, obtain written authorization for final disposition of the body from the physician, physician 

assistant practicing under the supervision of a person licensed to practice medicine under ORS chapter 

677, certified nurse practitioner or medical examiner who certifies the cause of death as provided in 

ORS 432.307 (3) on a form prescribed and furnished by the state registrar. If the funeral service 

practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner is unable to obtain such written 

authorization prior to final disposition of the body, the practitioner or person, with the oral consent of 

the physician, the physician assistant, the nurse practitioner, the medical examiner or a licensed health 

professional authorized to give such consent on behalf of the physician or medical examiner who is 

responsible for certifying the cause of death, may authorize final disposition of the body on a form 

prescribed and furnished by the state registrar. 



 

The mission of the Board is to protect public health, safety and welfare by fairly and efficiently performing its licensing, inspection and 

enforcement duties; by promoting professional behavior and standards in all facets of the Oregon death care industry; and, by 

maintaining constructive relationships with licensees, those they serve and others with an interest in the Board's activities.  In order to 

protect the public, it is the Board's responsibility to insure that all of Oregon's death care facilities are properly licensed. 

 

The Board is self-supporting and derives its financing from licensing, examination, and a portion of the death certificate filing fee (not 

the fees derived from the purchase of a certified copy of a death certificate).  
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ORS 692.270 Certificate of removal registration for removal of dead human bodies; requirements; 

sanctions.  

 

 (1) The State Mortuary and Cemetery Board shall issue a certificate of removal registration to a funeral 

establishment licensed in another state contiguous to Oregon with laws substantially similar to the 

provisions of this section for the limited purpose of removing dead human bodies from Oregon, prior 

to submitting a certificate of death, if the establishment that will make the removals applies to the 

board for a certificate of removal registration on a form provided by the board. The application fee 

established under ORS 692.160 shall accompany the application. A certificate issued under this 

subsection expires upon a change of ownership of the funeral establishment. 

 (2) For purposes of this section, each branch of a registrant’s funeral establishment is a separate 

establishment and must be registered as a fixed place of business. 

 (3) Notwithstanding ORS 692.025 (1) and 692.045, a funeral service practitioner who files death 

certificates in another state may file an Oregon certificate of death if the funeral service practitioner is 

employed by a licensed funeral establishment registered with the board under this section. 

 

OAR 333-011-0061 Amendment of Vital Records  

 

 (2) Who May Apply:  

  (b) To amend a death certificate, application may be made by the next of kin or the funeral director or 

person acting as such who signed the death certificate. Applications to amend the medical 

certification of cause of death shall be made only by the physician who signed the medical 

certification or the medical examiner;  

 

OAR 333-011-0072 Death Registration  

 

 (1)  Acceptance of Incomplete Death Certificate.  

 

  If all the information necessary to complete a death certificate is not available within the time 

prescribed for filing of the certificate, the funeral director shall file the certificate completed with all 

information that is available. In all cases the medical certification must be signed by the person 

responsible for such certification. If the cause of death is unknown or undetermined, the cause of death 

shall be shown as such on the certificate: 

  (a) A supplemental report providing the information missing from the original certificate shall be filed 

with the State Registrar as soon as possible, but in all cases within 30 days of the date the death 

occurred; 

  (b) The supplemental information shall be made a part of the existing death certificate. Such report 

shall be considered an amendment, and the death certificate shall be marked "Amended". 

 

OAR 333-011-0073 Delayed Registration of Death  

 

The registration of a death after the time prescribed by statute and regulations shall be registered on the regular 

certificate of death form in the manner prescribed below: 

 (1)  If the attending physician or medical examiner, at the time of death and the attending funeral director 

or person who acted as such are available to complete and sign the certificate of death, it may be 

completed without additional evidence and filed with the State Registrar. For those certificates filed 

one year or more after the date of death, the physician or medical examiner, and the funeral director or 

person who acted as such must state in accompanying affidavits that the information on the certificate 

is based on records kept in their files. 
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