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Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action 
 

State Mortuary and Cemetery Board 
State of Oregon 

 
 
In the Matter of the funeral establishment 
license of 
ADAMSON’S, INC. dba ADAMSON’S 
SHERIDAN FUNERAL HOME, 
 
And 
 
In the Matter of the funeral service practitioner 
license of  
VELDON VAL ADAMSON,   
 
                                                 LICENSEES 

  
 
Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action 
(Reprimand and Civil Penalties)  
 
And  

 
Opportunity for a Hearing 
      
 
CASE NO.  09-1043A & B 

 
 
Pursuant to ORS 692.180, the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (hereafter “OMCB,” “Board”) 

proposes to take disciplinary action in the form of a reprimand and civil penalties against the 

funeral establishment license of Adamson’s, Inc. dba Adamson’s Sheridan Funeral Home and 

against the funeral service practitioner license of Veldon Val Adamson on the grounds noted 

below.  

Grounds for Disciplinary Action: 
 
1a. At all times mentioned herein Adamson’s, Inc. dba Adamson’s Sheridan Funeral Home 

(hereafter “Licensee A”) was licensed by the Board as a funeral establishment in Sheridan 

(OMCB License No. FE-8611); and at all times mentioned herein, Veldon “Val” Adamson 

(hereafter “Licensee B”) was a licensed funeral service practitioner (OMCB License No. FS-

0003), and Licensee B was the assigned manager and corporate shareholder of Licensee A 

funeral establishment.   

1b.       Definitions that may be relevant to this notice are contained in OAR 830-011-0000 and 

ORS 692.010. 

2. 
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2a. On or about December 27, 2005 during an inspection of Licensee A funeral 

establishment the Board found that the permanent records of the following decedents identified 

by Oregon State ID Tag Nos. #414629 (VS)”, #414628 (RD)” and #414616 (RM) did not contain 

proper instructions to the Licensees as to the final disposition of the cremated remains. 

Licensees A and B were warned that the cremation authorization must contain further 

instructions to the licensed funeral service practitioner as to the final disposition of the cremated 

remains pursuant to ORS 97.150.  

2b. Despite the foregoing warning, on or about October 8, 2007, Licensees failed to properly 

complete the cremation authorization for the decedent with Oregon State ID Tag # 483360 (SC) 

by obtaining, from the person with the right to control final disposition, further instructions to the 

funeral licensee as to the final disposition for the cremated remains of the decedent.   

2c. The foregoing four instances of failing to obtain instructions for final disposition of 

cremated remains are violations of OAR 830-040-0000(7) which are cause for disciplinary 

action including reprimand and civil penalties of up to $1,000 for each violation under ORS 

692.180(1)(g); and the foregoing are violations of ORS 97.150(1) which are cause for 

disciplinary action including reprimand and civil penalties of up to $1,000 for each violation 

under ORS 692.180(1)(j). 

3. 

3a.   On or about June 26, 2001, during an inspection of Licensee A funeral establishment  the 

Board found that the permanent records of the decedents with Oregon State ID #329261 (AL) 

and #328253 (AL) did not contain a receipt for the release of the cremated remains of the 

decedent and the facility had released the cremated remains. Licensees were advised that 

failure to obtain a receipt for cremated remains when releasing the cremated remains was a 

violation of OAR 830-040-0000(8). 
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3b.  On or about December 27, 2005, during an inspection of Licensee A funeral 

establishment the Board found that the permanent record of the decedent with Oregon State ID 

Tag #414616 (RM) did not contain a signed receipt for the release of the cremated remains. 

Licensees were advised that failure to obtain a completed receipt for cremated remains when 

releasing the cremated remains was a violation of OAR 830-040-0000(8). 

3c. Despite the foregoing warnings, on or about October 12, 2007 Licensees failed to obtain 

a signed receipt for cremated remains of OR State ID #483360 (SC) when Licensees released 

the cremated remains.  

3d. The foregoing four instances of failing to obtain an accurate and complete receipt for 

cremated remains are violations of OAR 830-040-0000(8) which are cause for disciplinary 

action including reprimand and civil penalties of up to $1,000 for each violation under ORS 

692.180(1)(g).  

4. 

The Board therefore proposes to take disciplinary action in the form of a reprimand and civil 

penalties against Licensee A and Licensee B.   

 

Rights and Procedures 

 You are entitled to a hearing as provided by the Administrative Procedures Act 

(ORS Chapter 183) and ORS 692.265(1). If you want a hearing, you must file a written 

request for hearing with the State Mortuary & Cemetery Board (the “Board”) within 21 

days from the date this notice was mailed. The Board’s address is 800 NE Oregon Street 

#430, Portland OR  97232-2195.  If a request for hearing is not received within this 21-day 

period, your right to a hearing shall be considered waived.  

 If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time and place of the hearing. A 

Notice of Contested Case Hearing Right and Procedures is enclosed with this Notice of 
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Proposed Disciplinary Action and Opportunity for Hearing. If you do not request a 

hearing within 21 days, or if you withdraw a hearing request, notify the Board or 

administrative law judge that you will not appear or fail to appear at a scheduled hearing, 

the Board may issue a final order by default revoking your license. If the Board issues a 

final order by default, it designates its file on this matter as the record for purposes of a 

prima facie case. 

 

DATED this 21st day of July, 2011. 

 
 STATE MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD 
 
 
     
 ___<s> Lynne Nelson____________________ 
 Designee: Lynne Nelson, Compliance Manager 
 


