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BEFORE THE MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD

OF THE STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of the funeral service
practitioner and embalmer license of

Michael Y. Kimoto (CO-3756), and the Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action
funeral establishment licenses of And

NMZK Family Holdings, LLC dba Opportunity for a Hearing

Aftercare Cremation & Burial (FE-8581)

and

NMZzK Family Holdings, LLC dba Family CASE NOs. 09-1002AB & C

Memorial Mortuary (FE-8580)

RESPONDENTS

Pursuant to ORS 692.180, the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (“OMCB,” “Board”).
proposes to take disciplinary action against the combination funeral service practitioner and
embalmer license of Michael Y. Kimoto and the funeral establishment licenses of NMZK Family
Holdings, LLC dba Aftercare Cremation & Burial (FE-8581) and NMZK Family Holdings, LLC
dba Family Memorial Mortuary (FE-8580) on the grounds noted below. For statutory and rule
violations the Board may impose one or more of the following sanctions: Reprimand; license
revocation; civil penalty of up to $1000 for each violation; or other sanctions as authorized by
law.
Grounds for Disciplinary Action:

1.
la. At all times mentioned herein, Michael Y. Kimoto (hereafter “Respondent”) was licensed
by the Board as a funeral service practitioner and embalmer (OMCB License No. CO-3756).
1b. At all times mentioned herein, Respondent was a corporate member and the manager of

the following two co-located facilities licensed by the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board:
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i NZMK Family Holdings, LLC dba Family Memorial Mortuary (OMCB License No.
FE-8580, hereafter “Family Memorial”); and
ii.  NZMK Family Holdings, LLC dba Aftercare Cremation & Burial Service (OMCB
License No. CE-8581, hereafter “Aftercare”).
2.
2a. It is the responsibility of the funeral establishment licensee or person acting as such
handling the disposition of human remains, to pay the death certificate filing fee to the
Department of Human Services (hereafter “DHS”) as required in ORS 432.307(2) and ORS
432.312(1).
2b. OAR 830-030-0000(7) provides that the fee shall be paid within thirty (30) days after the
billing, and in no case, longer than ninety (90) days after the billing. Failure to pay death
certificate filing fees is cause for disciplinary action by the Board.
3.
3a. As of July 31, 2009, Respondent owed a combined total of approximately $1,561.00 in
delinquent filing fees which were due payable in full within ninety (90) days after the billing.
Specifically:
i. As of July 31, 2009, Respondent owed DHS for 143 death certificate filing fees for

final disposition arrangements made by Family Memorial, which amounts to $1001.00

that is over 90 days past due.
i. As of July 31, 2009, Respondent owed DHS for 80 death certificate filing fees for final
disposition arrangements made by Aftercare, which amounts to $560.00 that is over 90
days past due.

3b. Licensee failed to pay the foregoing death certificate filing fees within 90 days in at least
223 instances, each of which is a violation of OAR 830-030-0000(7) and cause for

disciplinary action under ORS 692.180(1)(g).
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4.
In addition to making several phone calls warning Respondent to pay the delinquent fees, the
Board sent Respondent the following warning letters due to delinquent death filing fees at both
funeral establishments:

i. On November 28, 2007 the Board sent a letter to Respondent Kimoto advising he
was delinquent in paying a combined total of $987.00 in filing fees for Family Memorial and
Aftercare.

ii.  On April 21, 2008 the Board sent a letter to Respondent Kimoto advising he was
delinquent in paying a combined total of $439.00 in filing fees for Family Memorial and
Aftercare.

iii.  On January 9, 2009 the Board sent a letter to Respondent Kimoto advising he was
delinquent in paying a combined total of $882.00 in filing fees for Family Memorial and
Aftercare.

5.
Definitions that may be relevant to this Notice are contained in ORS 692.010, ORS 432.005 and
OAR 830-011-0000.

Rights and Procedures

You are entitled to a hearing as provided by the Administrative Procedures Act (ORS
Chapter 183) and ORS 692.265(1). If you want a hearing, you must file a written request for
hearing with the State Mortuary & Cemetery Board (the “Board”) within 60 days from the date
this notice was mailed. If a request for hearing is not received by the Board within this 60-day
period, your right to a hearing shall be considered waived. Hearing requests may be mailed to the
Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board, 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 430, Portland, Oregon 97232-

2195.
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If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the time and place of the hearing. You may
be represented by an attorney at the hearing. Parties are ordinarily and customarily represented by
counsel. You are not required to be represented by counsel, unless you are an agency, trust,
corporation or association. A Notice of Contested Case Rights and Procedures is enclosed with this
Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action. If you do not request a hearing within 60 days, or if you
withdraw a hearing request, notify the Board or hearing officer that you will not appear or fail to
appear at a scheduled hearing, the Board may issue a final order by default imposing the discipline
as determined by the Board. If the Board issues a final order by default, it designates its file on this

matter as the record for purposes of establishing a prima facie case.

DATED this 31st day of July, 2009

STATE MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD

Designee: Lynne Nelson, Compliance Manager
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