Exam Requirements for Death Care Consultant license: Applicants for licensure as a death care consultant (DCC) are, prior to licensure, required to successfully complete a written examination established by the Board, and receive a score of not less than 75 percent, based on the total number of questions.
Applicants for licensure, prior to completing the written examination for DCC licensure, must be at least 18 years old.
You may not take the DCC exam unless you are a qualified applicant for a DCC license (the DCC License Application needs to be submitted to the Board's office). The DCC License Application is available under the Forms link or Board office upon request. Note that a qualified applicant has already submitted a completed application and fee, and has been notified that they have passed a background investigation performed by the Board.
The Conference will now be administering the Oregon State DCC Examination via a computer-based exam. The examination will not be given at the Board's office.
Exam Requirements for Embalmer license: Applicants
for an Oregon embalmer license shall be required to show evidence satisfactory
to the Board that the applicant has successfully passed the National Board
Examination as administered by ICFSEB, or an equivalent examination written by ICFSEB,
that shall include two sections, funeral service arts and funeral service
sciences, and must receive an average score of at least 75 percent on the
sections with not less than 70 percent on either of these two sections.
You may not take the embalmer exam unless you are a qualified applicant for an embalmer’s license. In order to qualify for the Oregon State Embalmer exam, you must submit evidence of graduation from a funeral service education program accredited by The American Board of Funeral Service Education to the Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board's office, prior to applying for this exam.
Conference will now be administering the Oregon State Embalmer Examination via
a computer-based exam. The examination
will not be given at the Board's office. For more information, please contact ICFSEB (https://theconferenceonline.org/examinations/laws-exam/ or phone: 479.442.7076)
State Board Examination Candidate Handbook from The Conference
State Board Embalmer Examination Application
Exam Requirements for FSP license: Applicants for a funeral service practitioner license shall be required to successfully complete a written examination and receive a score of not less than 75 percent, based on the total number of questions.
You may not take the FSP exam unless you are a qualified applicant for an FSP license (through the Board's apprenticeship program or by Reciprocity).
In order to be eligible for
the FSP examination under ORS 692.070, the applicant needs to provide a
certified copy of a transcript from a school accredited by a regional
association of schools and colleges demonstrating completion of an associate
degree or higher OR proof of four years as a licensed FSP or embalmer in this
state or another state.
An apprentice FSP may choose to take the exam before completion and
certification of their apprenticeship, but may not apply for license as an FSP
until both the exam is successfully passed and their apprenticeship completed
and verified by the Board.
Contact our office for application and payment, and to schedule an exam.
Pursuant to ORS 692.045(2), you are not currently eligible to take the FSP examination until you have provided written evidence of graduation with an associate or higher degree from a school accredited by a regional association of schools and colleges. However, evidence of completion of the educational requirement may be waived at the time of the exam as provided in ORS 670.010 as long as written evidence of graduation with an associate or higher degree from a school accredited by a regional association of schools and colleges, or the certified transcript is received by the Board no later than four calendar months from the first day of the month following the month in which the FSP examination is given. Contact the Board if you need additional information.
Please be aware that we will withhold notification of successful completion of the examination until written evidence or the certified transcript is furnished pursuant to ORS 670.020.
If any candidate admitted to an examination as provided in ORS 670.010 shall fail or neglect within said period to complete the educational
frequirement for such examination, then the completion of the examination by such candidate shall be null and void, and of no effect.
Need additional information? Please contact the Board office and request assistance.