CONSENT ORDER

State Mortuary and Cemetery Board
State of Oregon

In the Matter of the
Apprenticeship Embalmer and Case No. 11-1030
Apprenticeship Funeral Service Practitioner
Certificates Application of

Consent Order
WILLIAM MARTIN BROWN, Jr.,

Applicant/Licensee

WHEREAS, the Oregon State Mortuary and Cemetery Board (Board) is prepared to
issue a Notice of Proposed Denial of Application for Embalmer Apprenticeship and Funeral
Service Provider (hereafter “FSP”) Apprenticeship Certificates against William Martin Brown
(hereafter “Licensee” or “Applicant”) in Case No. 11-1030 upon the following bases:

1. On May 10, 2011, the Board received a completed application from Applicant for
Apprentice Embalmer and Apprentice FSP certificate. In the application, Applicant
disclosed his criminal history as follows:

a. A 1984 conviction (Case No: M61282-Washington County) for Theft 2,
a Class A misdemeanor crime. Applicant received a sentence of one
year probation.

b. A 1990 conviction (Case No: 91D100056-Marion County) for Theft 2,
a Class A misdemeanor crime. Applicant received a sentence of 24
months probation.

c. A 1996 conviction (Case No: CR96252-Yamhill County) for Assault 4,
a Class A misdemeanor crime. Applicant was sentenced to 36 months
probation.

d. A 2003 conviction (Case No: 03P50603/01-Polk County) for Theft 2, a
Class A misdemeanor crime. Applicant was sentenced to 18 months
probation.

e. A 2005 conviction (Case No: 05C40588/01) for Theft 1, a Class C
felony crime. Applicant was sentenced to 18 months incarceration in
state prison. Brown stated he engaged in the theft due to a gambling
addiction.

2. The foregoing crimes bear a demonstrable relationship to funeral service practice or
have a demonstrable bearing upon the standards of the profession and are therefore
grounds for refusal to grant an Embalmer Apprenticeship Certificate & FSP
Apprenticeship Certificate pursuant to OAR 830-050-0050(3), ORS 692.180(1)(i) and
ORS 670.280(3).
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WHEREAS, the Board and the Applicant are desirous of resolving and settling the
foregoing matters in Case No. 11-1030 without further proceedings thereon and this Consent
Order constitutes the entire agreement of the parties and is a final order of the Board, the Board
and Applicant/Licensee agree to the following:

1. Applicant is aware of the right to a hearing with the assistance of counsel and the
right to judicial review of the Board's decision in Case No. 11-1030, and hereby
freely and voluntarily waives those rights;

2. Applicant hereby acknowledges that he has read, understands, and agrees to the
terms of this Consent Order;

3. For violating OAR 830-050-0050(3), ORS 692.180(1)(i) and ORS 670.280(3), upon
the effective date of this Consent Order, Applicant/Licensee is placed on probation
for at least twenty-four months, subject to the following conditions:

a. Licensee will comply with all laws and rules applicable to the death care industry.

b. Licensee will not manage or hold any supervisory position at a licensed facility,
and while employed at a licensed facility, will work under supervision.

c. Licensee will notify the Board, in writing, anytime his employer or employers
change.

d. Licensee will provide a complete copy of this Consent Order to his current death
care industry employer and to any other death care industry employer in Oregon that
employs Licensee during the period of probation.

e. Licensee may not have independent responsibility for inventory of a decedent’s
possessions, and may not have any independent responsibility for handling client
monies or other funds during the period of probation.

f. Licensee will provide Quarterly Reports from each employer regarding his
conduct. Each Report must be received by the Board within ten days following the
end of the quarter, and must include at a minimum:

i. The name and signature of Licensee’s supervisor;

ii. Whether Licensee remains employed at this facility. If Licensee is no longer
employed, the Report must provide the date Licensee was last employed and
the reason for his departure;

iii. Whether Licensee had any independent responsibility for the inventory of a
decedent’s possessions or for client monies or other funds during the quarter;
and
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iv. Whether Licensee has received any discipline from the employer during the
guarter. The Report must state the nature of the discipline and the reason for
such discipline.

g. Licensee will not engage in any act of gambling, whether done in person, on the
internet, or by other electronic means, regardless of whether such actions are legal.
Gambling means staking or risking something of value on a game of chance or a
future continent event not under the person’s control or influence upon the
understanding that a person will receive something of value in the event of a certain
outcome.

If at any time during the prescribed probationary period, Licensee violates any
provision of this Order, or any provision of ORS Chapter 692 or OAR Chapter 830,
the Board may revoke all licenses held by Licensee.

The Board shall determine satisfactory completion of the Licensee’s probation based
upon the Licensee’s successful completion of the probationary period, criminal
background checks and any other relevant information.

This Consent Order shall become effective when signed by the Executive Director of
the Board.

DATED this _ 13th__ day of June, 2011.

MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD OF THE

STATE OF OREGON

By: _ <s> Michelle Gaines
Michelle Gaines, Executive Director

It is so agreed.

June 13, 2011 __<s>William Martin Brown

Date

Applicant, William Martin Brown
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