Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Disaster Assistance

DR-4768-OR Disaster Declaration

Declared: April 13, 2024
Incident: Severe Winter Storms, Straight-line Winds, Landslides and Mudslides
Incident Period: Jan 10, 2024 - Jan 22, 2024

FEMA Public Assistance is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in the designated counties of Benton, Clackamas, Coos, Hood River, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Multnomah, Sherman, Tillamook, Wasco, and Yamhill (designated 5/23/2024) Counties and the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians.

Public Assistance Program

The Public Assistance (PA) program is supplementary federal financial assistance to local and state, special districts, certain private non-profits and federally-recognized Indian tribes from the impact of a disaster.

Individual Assistance Program

Individual Assistance (IA) can provide a range of programs and resources that assist individual and families to recover from disaster events. This assistance is available only when the President declares that a major disaster has occurred and U.S. Government agencies are to provide IA. Individual Assistance can include FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program (IHP), housing and personal property assistance, child care, crisis counseling, unemployment assistance, legal assistance (usually for landlord-tenant matters), and assistance with other essential needs. It also includes disaster loans for physical damage and economic injury which are provided by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Damage Assessment Forms, Templates, and Resources

Damage assessment is a critical component of disaster operations. This page includes necessary forms, templates and resources for completing essential documentation following a disaster.

2021 Severe Winter Storm​ (DR4599-OR)

On May 4, 2021, The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) gave notice to the public of its intent to reimburse eligible applicants for eligible costs to repair and/or replace facilities damaged by the Severe Winter Storm between February 11 – 15, 2021. This notice applied to the Public Assistance (PA) and Hazard Mitigation Grant (HMGP) programs implemented under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5207. The application period for public assistance ended on June 3, 2021. 

View the declaration page.

2020 COVID-19 Pandemic (DR4499-OR)

On March 28, 2020, in response to the COVID-19 Pandemic, a Major Disaster Declaration was granted for the State of Oregon. The declaration allowed for FEMA's Public Assistance program to be activated, which provided federal financial assistance for emergency protective measures taken to respond to the COVID-19 emergency at the direction or guidance of state, local, tribal and territorial public health officials to manage, control and reduce the immediate threats to public health and safety. 

View the declaration page​​​​​.​

Hazard Mitigation grants provide funding for measures designed to reduce the effects of hazards and/or vulnerability to public and private property.​

This federally-funded program provides supplemental financial assistance to state agencies, local governments and tribal governments for wildfire suppression and response activities as a direct result of the fire incident. The FMAGP is a cost share program, 75 percent federal / 25 percent non-federal.  

The Emergency Relief (ER) program reimburses states for repairing roads damaged by natural disaster or other external catastrophe. The ER program supplements the resources committed by states and local agencies resulting from extraordinary conditions. 

The U.S Department of Agriculture’s Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Emergency Watershed Protection (EWP) program is designed to help people and conserve natural resources by relieving imminent hazards to life and property caused by floods, fires, windstorms, and other natural occurrences. EWP is an emergency recovery program. EWP Program includes removing debris from stream channels, reshaping and protecting eroded streambanks, repairing levees and flood control structures, and seeding or planting damaged upland areas. All projects undertaken, with the exception of the purchase of floodplain easements, must have a project sponsor.​​​​