Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission (OSSPAC)


After the Loma Prieta Earthquake in the Bay Area of California in 1989, Oregon residents wanted State government to address earthquake hazards and preparedness of the state. As a result, the Interagency Seismic Task Force recommended that a new state commission be formed in response to this need.

The Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission (OSSPAC), also known as the Earthquake Commission, is tasked with promoting earthquake awareness and preparedness in Oregon. The mission of OSSPAC is to positively influence decisions and policies regarding pre-disaster mitigation of earthquake and tsunami hazards, increase public understanding of earthquake hazard, risk, exposure, and vulnerability through education, and be responsive to the new studies and/or issues raised around earthquakes and tsunamis.

The Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission (OSSPAC) was formed as a result of Senate Bill 96 in 1991. Since this time, OSSPAC has continued to increase Oregon’s awareness to earthquake hazards by supporting earthquake education, research and legislation. Every two years, OSSPAC provides a summary report to the Governor of the Commission's activities. OSSPAC has formed relationships with the Western States Seismic Policy Council (WSSPC) and the California Seismic Safety Commission which provides a persuasive advantage to affect federal policy for the West Coast.


OSSPAC meets bi-monthly (usually on the second Tuesday)


Next Meeting Date: May 9, 2023
Time: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

  • July 11, 2023, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • September 12, 2023, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • November 14, 2023, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM



Oregon State Treasury
867 Hawthorne Avenue SE
Salem, OR 97301

You can also dial in using your phone: 1-253-215-8782
Meeting ID: 895 3911 7040 
Passcode: 997027

Members of the Commission

The Commission is made up of 18 individuals who represent a variety of interests concerned with forming public policy regarding earthquakes and includes six government representatives, six representatives of the public interest, and six representatives of industries and stakeholders. This variety of commission members helps direct the goals of the Commission for the benefit of all Oregon citizens.

Chair—Tiffany Brown

Local Government Stakeholder, Email:
Vice ChairTrent Nagele
Structural Engineer Stakeholder
Matt Crall
Department of Land Conservation & Development
David Gomberg
Representative Legislative Assembly
Dick Anderson
Representative Legislative Assembly
Leslie Ogden
First Responder Stakeholder
Joe Karney
Utilities Stakeholder
Christina LeClerc
Oregon Department of Transportation 
Bonnie Magura
Schools Stakeholder
Adam Pushkas
Building Owners Stakeholder 
Althea Rizzo
Oregon Department of Emergency Management 
Johnathan Allan
Department of Geology and Mineral Industries
Carolina Gomez
Multifamily Housing Stakeholder
Todd Smith
Building Codes Stakeholder
Susan Romanski
Public Member
Elizabeth Safran
Public Member
Public Member
Banking Stakeholder

Click here to apply. Visit the Oregon Boards and Commissions website

Commission Reports

Presentations and Testimony

Meeting Minutes


Other Resources