Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Homeland Security Council (OHSC)

Oregon State Seal

The Oregon Homeland Security Council (OHSC) was created by House Bill 2101 in the 2005 legislation session. Placed within the Oregon Department of Emergency Management, this council receives briefings on security matters for which the department is responsible at least annually from state agencies and organizations as determined by the council. The council also advises state agencies with responsibility for security matters on the future direction of the department's planning, preparedness, response, and recovery activities.


OHSC meets bi-annually. All meetings are open to the public, as per the Oregon Public Records and Meeting Laws.

2024 Schedule:

Date & Time Date & Time
April 16, 2024, 3:30 PM to 5:00 PM

Meeting Link:

Join the meeting now
Meeting ID: 216 393 896 120
Passcode: oBsf49

Point of Contact:

Erin McMahon | Director
Oregon Department of Emergency Management

Members of the Commission

The membership of the council consists of two members from the Senate, two members from the House of Representatives, the Governor, the Adjutant General, the Superintendent of State Police, the Director of the Department of Emergency Management, and additional members appointed by the Governor who the Governor determines necessary to fulfill the functions of the council, including state agency heads, elected state officials, local government officials, a member of the governing body of an Indian tribe and representatives from the private sector. 

Stakeholder Representative
OHSC Chair
Governor Tina Kotek
OHSC Vice Chair
Erin McMahon, Director, Oregon Department of Emergency Management

Senator Brian Boquist
Senator Floyd Prozanski
Representative Rick Lewis
Representative Paul Evans
Oregon Military Department BG Alan Gronewald, The Adjutant General
Oregon State Police Casey Codding, Superintendent
Oregon Department of Justice Michael Slauson, Chief Counsel, Criminal Justice Division
Emergency Operations Policy Advisor Constantin Severe
State Resilience Officer Jonna Papaefthimiou
Office of the State Fire Marshall Mariana Ruiz-Temple, State Fire Marshall
Department of Public Safety and Standards Training Philip Castle, Director
Oregon Health Authority Dr. Sejal Hathi, Director
Oregon Department of Transportation Kris Strickler, Director
Oregon Department of Forestry Cal Mukumoto
Department of Corrections Mike Reese, Director
Oregon Department of Justice, TITAN Fusion Center Rich Austria, Special Agent in Charge, Criminal Justice Division