Skip to main content

Basic Certification

Basic Certifications                                                    CJ IRIS Link

Jessica Klossen
jessica.klossen@state.or.us
503-378-2083
Public Safety Professionals are required to obtain Basic Certification in their discipline.  Detailed below are the forms required for certification followed by the requirements for obtaining basic certification for each discipline.

​​​Oregon Basic Corrections certification is required for and can only be held by full-time corrections officers.  Full-time corrections officers are defined  as an individuals working over 80 hours a month for 3 consecutive months who's primary duty is custody, control or supervision of individuals incarcerated individuals except juveniles.  Complete definitions of full-time and corrections officer can be found in OAR 259-008-0005.​  Supervisors and managers who are already hold basic corrections certification may maintain that certification.  

Individuals working less than 80 hours a month cannot obtain or maintain correctional certification.  

  • Corrections officers must be certified within 18 months of hire.
  • Agencies can request an 1 year extension for officers ​to become certified 
  • Failure to obtain Basic Corrections certification within the required timelines will result in a an officer not being able to work in their certified role.

The following requirements must be met and reflected in CJ IRIS prior to submitting an application for certification​:

  • ​​Be employed as a corrections officer at an agency identified by DPSST as having corrections officers.  (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Corrections Course (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Corrections ​field training.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Have a signed Law Enforcement Code of Ethics (F11)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Require​d Forms

  • ​​​F7 Application for Certification
  • F11 Law Enforcement Code of Ethics
  • F# Criminal History Worksheet (if necessary)
  • F12 Extension​ Request Form (if necessary​

Oregon Basic Parole & Probation certification is required for and can only be held by full-time parole & probation officers.  Full-time parole & probation officers are defined  as an individuals working over 80 hours a month for 3 consecutive months who's primary duty is community protection by controlling, investigating, supervising, and providing or making referrals on post-prison supervision or investigating adult offenders on parole or probation or being considered for parole or probation.  Complete definitions of Full Time and Parole & Probation officer can be found in OAR 259-008-0005.​   

Individuals working less than 80 hours a month can maintain parole & probation certification if they already have Parole & Probation certification and have been employed, full-time for one year.  

  • ​Parole & Probation officers must be certified within 18 months of hire.
  • Agencies can request an 1 year extension for officers ​to become certified 
  • Failure to obtain Basic Parole & Probation certification within the required timelines will result in a an officer not being able to work in their certified role.

​​Th​​​​e fo​​llowing requirements must be met and reflected in CJ IRIS prior to submitting an application for certification​:

  • ​​Be employed as a parole & Probation officer at an agency identified by DPSST as having Parole & Probation officers.  (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Parole & Probation Course (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Parole & Probation field training.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Have a signed Law Enforcement Code of Ethics (F11)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Required Forms

  • ​F7 Application for Certification
  • F11 Law Enforcement Code of Ethics
  • F# Criminal History Worksheet (if necesary)
  • F## Extesion Request Form (if necessary)

​​Oregon Basic Police certification is required for and can only be held by full-time police officers.  Full-time police officers are defined  as an individuals working over 80 hours a month for 3 consecutive months with the responsibility of enforcing criminal law. Complete definitions of full- time and police officer can be found in OAR 259-008-0005​.

Individuals working less than 80 hours a month and responsible for enforcing criminal law are considered Reserves.  Reserves are not certified, however they are required to be reported to DPSST and have had a full background​​ completed per OAR 259-008-0015

​​​Guidelines:

  • Police officers must be certified within 18 months of hire.
  • Agencies can request an 1 year extension for officers ​to become certified  (Extension Form)
  • Failure to obtain Basic Police certification within the required timelines will result in a an officer not being able to work in their certified role.

​​The following requirements must be met and reflected in CJ IRIS prior to submitting an application for certification​:

  • ​​Be employed as a police officer at an agency identified by DPSST as having police officers.  (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Police Course (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Police field training.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Have a signed Law Enforcement Code of Ethics (F11)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Required Forms

  • ​F7 Application for Certification
  • F11 Law Enforcement Code of Ethics
  • F# Criminal History Worksheet (if necessary)
  • F12 Extension Request Form (if necessary)​

Oregon Basic Regulatory Specialist certification is required for and can only be held by a full-time employee of OLCC who is authorized to conduct inspections, investigations, make arrests and seizures, aid in prosecutions for offenses, issue citations for violations and otherwise enforce statutes OLCC considers related to alcoholic liquor or marijuana.  Complete definitions of Full Time and Regulatory Specialist can be found in OAR 259-008-0005.​   

  • Regulatory Specialist officers must be certified within 18 months of hire.
  • Agencies can request an 1 year extension for officers ​to become certified 
  • Failure to obtain Regulatory Specialist certification within the required timelines will result in a the specialist not being able to work in their certified role.

​​ The following requirements must be met and reflected in CJ IRIS prior to submitting an application for certification​:​

  • ​​Be employed as a Regulatory Specialist at the Oregon Liquor Control Commission.  (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic OLCC Regulatory Specialist Course (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic OLCC Regulatory Specialist field training.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Have a signed Law Enforcement Code of Ethics (F11)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Required Forms

  • ​F7 Application for Certification
  • F11 Law Enforcement Code of Ethics
  • F# Criminal History Worksheet (if necessary)
  • F12 Extension Request Form (if necessary)​

Oregon Basic Telecommunicator certification is required for and can only be held by individuals whose primary duties are receiving, processing and transmitting public safety information received through a 9-1-1 emergency reporting system.  Complete definitions of a Telecommunicator can be found in OAR 259-008-0005.​

Guidelines:

  • Telecommunicators must be certified within 18 months of hire.
  • Agencies can request an 1 year extension for telecommunicators to become certified.
  • Failure to obtain Basic Telecommunicator certification within the required timelines will result in a telecommunicator not being able to work in their certified role.

​​The following requirements must be met and reflected in CJ IRIS prior to submitting an application for certification:

  • ​​Be employed as a telecommunicator at an agency identified by DPSST as having telecommunicators.​ (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Telecommunications Course (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic telecommunications field training.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Have a signed Telecommunications Code of Ethics (F11T)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Required Forms

  • ​F7 Application for Certification
  • F11T Telecommunications Code of Ethics
  • F# Criminal History Worksheet (if necessary)
  • F## Extension​​ Request Form (if necessary)​​

Oregon Basic Emergency Medical Dispatcher certification is required for and can only be held by individuals who have the responsibility to process requests for medical assistance from the public or to dispatch medical care providers.  Complete definitions of a Telecommunicator can be found in OAR 259-008-0005.​

Guidelines:

  • Emergency Medical Dispatchers must be certified within 18 months of hire.
  • Agencies can request an 1 year extension for Emergency Medical Dispatchers to become certified.
  • Failure to obtain Basic Emergency Medical Dispatcher certification within the required timelines will result in a dispatcher not being able to work in their certified role.

​​The following requirements must ​​be met and reflected in CJ IRIS prior to submitting an application for certification:

  • ​​Be employed as an emergency medical dispatcher at an agency identified by DPSST as having emergency medical dispatchers.  (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Emergency Medical Dispatch Course (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Successfully complete DPSST Basic Emergency Medical Dispatch field training.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Have a signed Telecommunications Code of Ethics (F11T)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster)  (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Required Forms

  • ​F7 Application for Certification
  • F11T Telecommunications Code of Ethics
  • F# Criminal History Worksheet (if necessary​)
  • F12 Extension Request Form (if necessary)​
​​DPSST’s Criminal Justice Certifications (CJ Certifications) is responsible for ensuring board approved standards are enforced and ensure agencies are in compliance.  This information is meant to aid DPSST and DOC Training Divisions in understanding the requirements for instructor certification.

Note:  Only instructors teaching the board approved curriculum of a mandated training course can receive DPSST Instructor Certification. 
  • ​​​DOC Basic Corrections Course
  • DPSST​ Basic Police​​
  • DPSST Basic Correction Local
  • DPSST Basic Parole and Probation
  • DPSST Telecommun​ications​

  • ​​DPSS​T Emergency Medical Dispatch
  • DPSST Supervision (SLA)
  • DPSST Management (OLMA)
  • DPSST Adult Learning Core​

Employment 

Not​ all instructors must be certified, but all instructors teaching mandated courses must be reported to CJ Certifications via the F4 Personnel Action form.  Personnel Action forms are required by rule to be submitted within 10 days of instructor hire, transfer, assignment, separations, etc.   Employment relates to anyone being brought on, in any capacity, to instruct mandated courses and includes volunteer, agency loan, temporary, and part-time instructors. 
  • All Instructors must have a background completed
  • When completing the Personnel Action form(F4) you must complete all fields in the Employee & Employment Section, New Hire Section, and Signatures Section.  Below are some special considerations for an Instructor F4’s.
    • Indicate Hired as a DOC/DPSST Instructor
    • Must have background completed as detailed in 259-008-0015. ​
    • ​Note: Fingerprints are not required for Instructor certification. Leave blank on F4.
    • ​Note for instructors hired by DPSST Training Division:  If the individual has been hired full time at DPSST and currently holds Police, Corrections, Parole and Probation, Telecommunicator, EMD, or Regulatory Specialist Certification, you must also check the box appropriate discipline on the F4 if they wish to maintain their certification.

Separations

Regardless of certification status, if an instructor separates from employment o​r is no longer going to be utilized as an instructor, CJ Certifications must be notified via a Personnel Action-Separation (F4s)​ form within 10 days of separation from their instructor role.  The Explanation/Reason for the separation section must be provided for DPSST CJ Certifications to determine what type of separation to record and if a Professional Standards case should be opened.  Upon separation, if the instructor has DPSST Instructor Certification, that certification will be expired effective the date of separation unless a professional standards case is opened. ​

Instructor Certifications

Instructors who have primary responsibility to teach a group of students a mandated course must possess DPSST Instructor Certification.  Instructors who do not have DPSST Instructor Certification cannot teach students without another certified instructor present.  Primary Responsibility means individuals who have sole responsibility over a group of students for any part of instruction.  These would be the instructors that are reported to CJ Certifications on the Class Schedule Report at the end of class.  Not all instructors are required to be certified.  Only those that will have primary responsibility of a group of students during any portion of a mandated course.

  • Once an instructor is ready to be certified, as determined by the employer, an F9 Application for Instructor Certification must be submitted ensuring the following requirements:
    • Instructors must be currently employed or utilized as an instructor for DPSST or D​OC.
    • Instructors Must have successfully completed of the appropriate instructor development training:
      • DPSST:  Instructor must successfully complete the board-approved DPSST Adult Learning Core Course.
      • DOC: Instructors must complete a DOC approved instructor development course or possess the knowledge and skills, as determined by DOC to instruct the mandated course.
    • Instructors must not have any convictions, criminal dispositions, or a history of conduct that would adversely impact the instructor's position as a role model, a leader within the public safety profession and a source of expertise for critical learning components

    Expired Certifications​

    Upon separation of employment or utilization as an instructor, that individual's instructor certification will be expired, unless a professional standards case is opened.  Instructors with expired certifications must follow the hire process detailed in this document to begin the process to be granted a new instructor certification.   If the instructor has been expired over three years, they must attend the appropriate instructor development training detailed under Certification Requirements.​

    Documents Required:

    • ​F9 Instructor Certification ​Application

    • Certifications lapse after 90 days of no longer being in the discipline (unless on Leave of Absence).
    • Lapsed certification ​means an officer is still certified; however, they must complete certain requirements to become reactivated.
    • Timelines for reactivating a lapsed certification is based on employment dates for the specific discipline.
    • Reactivated certifications will have a “Reactivate” Status.
    • ​As this is a reactivation of a certification, a new physical certificate will not be printed.​





    Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

    ×