Skip to main content

Upper Levels of Certification

Upper Levels of Certification                                      CJ IRIS Link

Jessica Klossen
jessica.klossen@state.or.us
503-378-2083
The upper levels of certifications are intended to reflect an officers level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.  To apply for these certifications, review the requirements listed for each of the levels of certification below against the IRIS officer records system to determine if you are eligible.

Intermediate law enforcement certification is intended to reflect an officers level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.​ Officers can obtain this certification by meeting the requirements for certification detailed below.  Intermediate​ certifications are optional; however, persons wishing to hold these certifications must demonstrate they possess the board approved state-wide requirements.

​Completing the F7WS

The F7WS is a supplemental worksheet required to be submitted ​​

  • ​​T​he training categories on the F6 and F15 are used to track maintenance training requirements not intermediate or advanced certifications.​
  • DPSST does not track the subject areas required to obtain these certifications. Portions of a course could apply to multiple categories and each person applying has the ability to decide which category a training applies.
  • Officers with certification in multiple disciplines can only apply for upper levels of certification in their primary discipline.
  • Agencies could recommend their officers maintain a personal log of training that would meet the certification requirements much the way an individual maintains a resume.​
  • For each subject area, applicants must indicate:
  • ​Date of Training (found in IRIS)
  • The DPSST generated Course ID and Title for the training (found in IRIS)
  • An explanation (in the officer’s own words) of how the course applies to the chosen subject.
  • Ex​ample: 4 hours of this 40-hour Effective Law Enforcement course was dedicated to understanding how to effectively communicate with victims of a crime.
  • The number of hours of the course that should be applied towards the subject area.
  • Example​: 4 hours​​

​Education Credit

  • ​​Education credit calculation: Quarter credit = Education Credit; Semester credit X 1.5 = Education Credit
  • Training used to obtain college credit cannot be used for both training and education.  Meaning if a college/university accepted a 40 hour training towards a degree, that 40 hours cannot be used in both training and education.​​

​​The following requirements must be reflected in DPSST records, accessible via CJ IRIS, prior to application submission:

  • Must possess basic certification in requested discipline.
  • Must hold current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 training roster)
  • Must meet the required training hours for each category listed in the table below.  The number of hours is based on a combination of work experience and education.  
  • ​DPSST officer records must reflect the work experience, education and training being used to apply for certification. CJ IRIS is available for agencies and the officers to verify accuracy prior to submitting the application and worksheet.

DPSST will not accept:​​

  • A copy/paste of the course announcement or description​
  • The same course hours used in multiple subject areas.
    • ​Ex​​ample: If 4 hours of the 40-hour Effective Law Enforcement Course was used in communication, you can only use the remaining 36 hours in the other subject areas.
  • Training used for intermediate cannot be used.
  • First Aid/CPR Training
  • Any portion of basic training or the Field Training Manual
  • Firearms qualifications/re-qualifications
  • Agency Policies and procedure reviews
  • Instructed hours (a class a person has taught cannot be used towards hours of training received)​​

Documents Required:


​Education and Experience requirements for Intermediate Certification

With a Bachelors Degree and 3 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​16 hours Communications Training
  • 40 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 16 hours Leadership Training
  • 8 hours Risk Management Training
With an Associates Degree and 4 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​28 hours Communications Training
  • 60 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 20 hours Leadership Training
  • 12 hours Risk Management Training
With an 45 college credits  and 5  years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​40 hours Communications Training
  • 80 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 24 hours Leadership Training
  • 16 hours Risk Management Training
With 0 to 45 college credits and 6 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​52 hours Communications Training
  • 100 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 28 hours Leadership Training
  • 20 hours Risk Management Training



Advanced law enforcement certification is intended to reflect an officer's level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.​ Officers can obtain this certification by meeting the requirements for certification detailed below.  Advanced certifications are optional; however, persons wishing to hold these certifications must demonstrate they possess the board approved state-wide requirements.

​Completing the F7WS

The F7WS is a suppl​emental worksheet required to be submitted ​​

  • ​​T​he training categories on the F6 and F15 are used to track maintenance training requirements not intermediate or advanced certifications.​
  • DPSST does not track the subject areas required to obtain these certifications. Portions of a course could apply to multiple categories and each person applying has the ability to decide which category a training applies.
  • Officers with certification in multiple disciplines can only apply for upper levels of certification in their primary discipline.
  • Agencies could recommend their officers maintain a personal log of training that would meet the certification requirements much the way an individual maintains a resume.​
  • For each subject area, applicants must indicate:
  • ​Date of Training (found in IRIS)
  • The DPSST generated Course ID and Title for the training (found in IRIS)
  • An explanation (in the officer’s own words) of how the course applies to the chosen subject.
  • Ex​ample: 4 hours of this 40-hour Effective Law Enforcement course was dedicated to understanding how to effectively communicate with victims of a crime.
  • The number of hours of the course that should be applied towards the subject area.
  • Example​: 4 hours​​

​Ed​ucation Credit

  • ​​Educat​ion credit calculation: Quarter credit = Education Credit; Semester credit X 1.5 = Education Credit
  • Traini​ng used to obtain college credit cannot be used for both training and education.  Meaning if a college/university accepted a 40 hour training towards a degree, that 40 hours cannot be used in both training and education.​​

​​The following requirements must be reflected in DPSST records, accessible via CJ IRIS, prior to application submission:

  • Must possess basic certification in requested discipline.
  • Must hold current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 training roster)
  • Must meet the required training hours for each category listed in the Education and Experience Requirements Section below.  The number of hours is based on a combination of work experience and education.  
  • ​DPSST officer records must reflect the work experience, education and training being used to apply for certification. CJ IRIS is available for agencies and the officers to verify accuracy prior to submitting the application and worksheet.

DPSST will not a​ccept:

  • A c​opy/paste of the course announcement or description​
  • The same course hours used in multiple subject areas.
    • ​Ex​​ample: If 4 hours of the 40-hour Effective Law Enforcement Course was used in communication, you can only use the remaining 36 hours in the other subject areas.
  • Training used for intermediate cannot be used.
  • First Aid/CPR Training
  • Any portion of basic training or the Field Training Manual
  • Firearms qualifications/re-qualifications
  • Agency Policies and procedure reviews
  • Instructed hours (a class a person has taught cannot be used towards hours of training received)​​

Documents Re​quired:

​Education and Ex​​perience requirements for Advanced Certification


With a Masters Degree and 6 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​16 hours Communications Training
  • 40 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 16 hours Leadership Training
  • 8 hours Risk Management Training
With a Bachelor's Degree and 7 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​28 hours Communications Training
  • 60 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 20 hours Leadership Training
  • 12 hours Risk Management Training
 ​With an Associate's Degree  and 9​ years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:​
  • ​40 hours Communications Training
  • 80 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 24 hours Leadership Training
  • 16 hours Risk Management Training
​With an 45 college credits  and 11 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​52 hours Communications Training
  • 100 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 28 hours Leadership Training
  • 20 hours Risk Management Training
With 0 to 45 college credits and 13 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​64 hours Communications Training
  • 120 hours Advanced Technical Training
  • 32 hours Leadership Training
  • 24 hours Risk Management Training​


​​Intermediate Telecommunicator certification is intended to reflect an officers level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.​ Officers can obtain this certification by meeting the requirements for certification detailed below.  Intermediate certifications are optional; however, persons wishing to hold these certifications must demonstrate they possess the board approved state-wide requirements.​​​​​

​Education Credits

  • Education credit calculation: Quarter credit = Education Credit; Semester credit X 1.5 = Education Credit
  • Training used to obtain college credit cannot be used for both training and education.  Meaning if a college/university accepted a 40 hour training towards a degree, that 40 hours cannot be used in both training and education.​

​The following requirements must be ​​reflected in DPSST records, accessible via CJ IRIS, prior to application submission:

  • Must possess Basic certification in requested discipline. (IRIS Certification Tab)
  • Must hold current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 training roster) (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Training hours used based on certification charts below. (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Training hours cannot be Basic Training or Field Training used to obtain certification.
  • Work experience in the requested discipline and education as reflected in the chart below. (IRIS Employment and Education Tabs)

Document​​s Required:

  • F7 Application for Certification
  • Portfolio:  A recommendation letter from the department head or a currently certified designee and portfolio must be submitted summarizing the total points being used from the Portfolio Points Table below along with all attached supporting documentation.  Advanced applicants must have a total of 6 portfolio points in three different categories listed in the portfolio points table below.
  • Sample Recommendation/Portfolio Cover Letter​
  • College Transcripts (if not already submitted)​​

Training and ​Experience Requirements for Intermediate Certification


With a 45 or more credits and 5 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​160 training hours (excludes basic and field training manuals)
  • 3 portfolio points from two separate categories.
With a 0 to 45 credits and 6 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​200 training hours (excludes basic and field training manuals)
  • 3 portfolio points from two separate categories.

Advanced Telecommunicator certification is intended to reflect an officer's level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.​ Officers can obtain this certification by meeting the requirements for certification detailed below.  Advanced certifications are optional; however, persons wishing to hold these certifications must demonstrate they possess the board approved state-wide requirements.​​​​​


Education Credits

  • Education credit calculation: Quarter credit = Education Credit; Semester credit X 1.5 = Education Credit
  • Training used to obtain college credit cannot be used for both training and education.  Meaning if a college/university accepted a 40 hour training towards a degree, that 40 hours cannot be used in both training and education.​

​The following requirements must be ​​reflected in DPSST records, accessible via CJ IRIS, prior to application submission:

  • Must possess Basic certification in requested discipline. (IRIS Certification Tab)
  • Must hold current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 training roster) (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)
  • Training hours used based on certification charts below. (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Training hours cannot be Basic Training or Field Training used to obtain certifiation.
  • Work experience in the requested discipline and education as reflected in the chart below. (IRIS Employment and Education Tabs)

Document​​s Required:

  • F7 Application for Certification
  • Portfolio:  A recommendation letter from the department head or a currently certified designee and portfolio must be submitted summarizing the total points being used from the Por​tfolio Points Table below along with all attached supporting documentation.  Advanced applicants must have a total of 6 portfolio points in three different categories listed in the portfolio points table below.
  • Sample Recommendation/Portfolio Cover Letter​
  • College Transcripts (if not already submitted)​

Training and Experience ​​Requirements for Intermediate Certification


With a Bachelor's Degree and 7 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​120 training hours (excludes basic and field training manuals)
  • 6 portfolio points from two separate categories.
With a Associate's Degree and 8 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​160 training hours (excludes basic and field training manuals)
  • 6 portfolio points from two separate categories.
With  45 credits and 9 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​200 training hours (excludes basic and field training manuals)
  • 6 portfolio points from two separate categories.
With a 0 to 45 credits and 10 years certified experience in the discipline for which you are applying, you will need to report the following training:
  • ​240 training hours (excludes basic and field training manuals)
  • 6 portfolio points from two separate categories. 

Telecommunicators use a points system applied t​o pre-determined categories to create a portfolio that must be submitted along with the F7 Application for Certification​.  
The portfolio must include:
  • Cover letter detailing the category, description and points assigned
    • Intermediate certifications must include points from 2 categories
    • ​Advanced certifications must include points from 3 categories
  • Supporting documentation (awards, CAD reports, Media events, training records, etc.)

Telecommunications Intermediate and Advanced Portfolio Points Chart​​ ​ ​

Category​
​Item​Points
​Leadership​Policy Writing​​/Revision​1 point
​Leadership​APCO​/NENA Membership (Active within past 2 years​1/2 point
​Leadership​​APCO/NENA Leadership(Hold officer, Committee Chair, National Committee, etc.  within past 5 years) ​1 point
Leadership​​Agency Leadership Role (agency defined)​1 point
Leadership​​Professional Development (agency defined)​1 point
​Calls for service*​​Multi-jurisdictional (cross-dispatch) events​1/4 point
​Calls for Service*​Mass casualty events
​1/4 point
​Calls for Service*​​Major media events ​1/4 point
​Calls for Service*​Incident dispatch team member​1/4 point
​Calls for Service*​Unusual or exemplary call for service (agency defined)​1/4 point
​Awards​Agency/local award recipient​1/2 point
​Awards​State award recipient
​1 point
​Awards​National award recipient
​1 point
​Training​​1 year communications training officer (within past 5 years) ​1/2 point
​Training​2+ years Communications Training Officer (within past 5 years)​1 point
​Training​​Industry, DPSST or Agency Instructor ​1 point
​Training​Attend minimum 8 hour industry related training course​1 point
​Longevity​​Every year as a Department Head ​1 point
​Longevity​​Every two years as a mid-level manager ​1 point
​Longevity​​Every three years as a first line supervisor ​1 point
​Longevity​​Every four years as a lead worker ​1 point​


Supervisory certification is intended to reflect an officer's level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.​ Officers can obtain this certification by meeting the requirements for certification detailed below.  Supervisory certifications are optional certifications​​​​​​​.  Persons wishing to hold these certifications must demonstrate they possess the Board approved state-wide requirements.​​

Note: DPSST does not have any requirements for individuals to obtain Supervisory Certification. However, supervisory training is required for individuals moving into a supervisory role as indicated in their Agency Rank Structure.  ​​​You can register for ​an academy class or submit an F21 Supervisory Training Equivalency form to comply with the training requirement.​


​​​​The following requirements must be ​​​reflected in DPSST records, accessible via CJ IRIS, prior to application submission:​​​

  • Rank must be listed in Agency Rank Structure Report as qualifying to receive supervisory certification.
  • Must possess Basic certification in the requested discipline. (IRIS Certification Tab)
  • Must have completed DPSST supervision training or submitted an F21 equivalency within 5 years.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Must be currently employed in a 1st level supervisor position and have two years experience over the last 5 years. (Acting or limited supervisory responsibility does not qualify) (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster) (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Documents Required:

​​​Management certification is intended to reflect an officer's level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.​ Officers can obtain this certification by meeting the requirements for certification detailed below.  Management certifications are optional certifications​​​​​​​ except a Chief of Police must obtain management certification within 2 years of appointment.  Persons wishing to hold these certifications must demonstrate they possess the Board approved state-wide requirements.​

NOTE: DPSST does not have any requirements for individuals to obtain Management Certification. However, management training is required for individuals moving into a management role as indicated in their Agency Rank Structure.  ​​​You can register for ​an academy class or submit an F22 Management Training Equivalency form to comply with the training requirement.​​

Education Credits

  • Education credit calculation: Quarter credit = Education Credit; Semester credit X 1.5 = Education Credit
  • Training used to obtain college credit cannot be used for both training and education.  Meaning if a college/university accepted a 40 hour training towards a degree, that 40 hours cannot be used in both training and education.​​

The following requirements must be reflected in DPSST records, accessible via CJ IRIS, prior to application submission:​

  • Rank must be listed in Agency Rank Structure Report as qualifying to receive management certification.
  • Must possess Supervisory certification in the requested discipline. (IRIS Certification Tab)
  • Must have completed DPSST management training or submitted an F22 equivalency within 5 years.  (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Must have at least 90 college education credits (IRIS Education Tab)
  • Must be currently employed in a Middle Management, Assistant Department Head, or Department Head position, and have 2 years of experience in an eligible position within the preceding 5 years. (Limited or acting management does not qualify) (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster) (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Documents​ Required:

Executive certification is intended to reflect an officer's level within the public safety community.  DPSST issues these certifications based on specific guidelines to ensure they are transferable between all agencies within Oregon.​ Officers can obtain this certification by meeting the requirements for certification detailed below.  Executive certifications are optional certifications.  Persons wishing to hold these certifications must demonstrate they possess the Board approved state-wide requirements.

Education Credits

  • Education credit calculation: Quarter credit = Education Credit; Semester credit X 1.5 = Education Credit
  • Training used to obtain college credit cannot be used for both training and education.  Meaning if a college/university accepted a 40 hour training towards a degree, that 40 hours cannot be used in both training and education.

The following requirements must be reflected in DPSST records, accessible via CJ IRIS, prior to application submission:

  • Rank must be listed in Agency Rank Structure Report as qualifying to receive executive certification.
  • Must possess Management certification in the requested discipline.  (IRIS Certification Tab)
  • Must have at least 90 college education credits. (IRIS Education Tab)
  • 100 hours of DPSST- approved executive level training within the preceding 5 years. (IRIS Training Tab)
  • Must be currently employed in a Middle Management position as an Assistant Department Head or Department Head as defined by the agency rank structure, and have 2 years of experience in an eligible position within the preceding 5 years. (Limited or acting management does not qualify) (IRIS Employment Tab)
  • Have current First Aid/CPR Certification (can be submitted on an F6 Roster) (IRIS Requirements Tracking Tab)

Below are examples of executive level training, other trainings may also qualify.  Be sure to identify the 100 hours on a separate sheet of paper when applying for Executive Certification.

  • FBI National
  • OEDI
  • International Public Safety Leadership and Ethics Institute (IPSLEI)
  • Northwest Leadership Seminar
  • Executive Development Seminar
  • Civil Liability / Risk Management ​ 

Documents Required:
  • F7 Application for Certification​
  • Memo on agency letterhead detailing Course Name, number and hours reflecting the 100 hours of executive training.
    • A printout of IRIS wit​h the courses identified is acceptable.​

  • Certifications lapse after 90 days of no longer being in the discipline (unless on Leave of Absence).
  • Lapsed certification ​means an officer is still certified; however, they must complete certain requirements to become reactivated.
  • Timelines for reactivating a lapsed certification is based on employment dates for the specific discipline.
  • Reactivated certifications will have a “Reactivate” Status.
  • ​As this is a reactivation of a certification, a new physical certificate will not be printed.​



Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×