An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
Individuals wishing to become Police Officers, Correctional Officers, Parole and Probation Officers, OLCC Regulatory Specialists, or 911 Dispatchers must first be hired at an Oregon Public Safety Agency. Individuals wishing to become an instructor teaching mandated courses at the academy, must first be hired by the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training or the Department of Corrections. Agencies must report a new employee to DPSST within 10 days of the hire. The following details the various requirements that must be met for hiring a public safety professional.
DPSST has developed a Psychological Screening Reference Guide to assist agencies in determining if a psych is required.
Reserves are defined as a commissioned peace officer employed as a volunteer or working no more than 80 hours a month for a 90-day period.
Police, Corrections, Parole & Probation, Regulatory Specialist
When a law enforcement officer moves to the same discipline in another agency, their certifications will remain active as long as they do not have a break in employment over 90 days.
Police, Corrections, Parole & Probation, Regulatory Specialist, Telecommunicator, Emergency Medical Dispatcher
Police, Police Reserves, Corrections, Parole & Probation, Regulatory Specialist
An officer can maintain certifications in multiple disciplines only if it is a need of the agency. The agency must identify the primary discipline the officer is going to perform and the officer can only requests upper level certifications in that discipline. If an individuals has certifications in telecommunications or emergency medical dispatch AND law enforcement, the individual must complete both the Telecommunication and Law Enforcement maintenance requirements. (Note: Telecommunicators who are also Emergency Medical Dispatchers are automatically multidiscipline).
Telecommunicator, Emergency Medical Dispatcher
When a Telecommunicator moves to the same discipline in another agency, their certifications will remain active as long as they do not have a break in employment over 1 year.
Used by DPSST or DOC only
Instructor Certification is only required for those instructors who will have primary responsibility for the instruction of any portion of a Board-approved curriculum for a mandated training course
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how