Skip to main content Homepage

New Certification

By Exam and Reciprocity

Trained and certified operators are necessary to ensure that the systems are managed in a manner that fully protects public health and the environment. 

Water distribution systems are classified according to the population served, and require operators to be certified as Distribution Levels 1-4. Treatments plants are classified by assigning points for each unit process and then totalling these points according to OAR-333-061-0220. Use the operator classification worksheet: PDF -or- Excel

Operating experience earned at a water treatment plant or distribution system is considered qualifying experience for examinations up to one classification level higher than that of the water system where the applicant gained their experience. In other words, if you have only worked for a Class 2 treatment plant, you may apply for a Level 3 certification but not a Level 4 certification. If you move on to a Class 3 plant, then you must have ½ the qualifying experience (at the Level 3 plant) before applying for a Level 4 certification. 

Exam Application

Operator certification requires applying for and passing a written exam. Use the application and materials below to apply for certification.  


Certification by reciprocity can be granted for individuals who have a current valid certification in another state or province which has a recognized certification program. The certification is granted where the examination, experience, and education requirements are equivalent to Oregon requirements and is determined on a case by case basis.

Levels 1-4 Exam Study Information


Online Payment

You can now pay your certification fees by credit card here! If you are a brand new operator contact the program first.

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how