Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Health Licensing Office

The State of Oregon's Health Licensing Office (HLO), part of the Oregon Health Authority's Public Health Division, is a central licensing and regulatory office that oversees multiple health and related professions. HLO protects the health, safety and rights of Oregon consumers by ensuring only qualified applicants are authorized to practice. HLO reviews and approves applicant qualifications, conducts examinations, inspects thousands of licensed facilities and independent contractors, responds to and investigates consumer complaints, and disciplines licensees who are found in violation of state requirements.

To that end, HLO works with 16 boards, councils and programs in the State of Oregon.

Information Line: (503) 378-8667

 Subscribe to receive email notification of site updates    

Get directions to our office

Health Licensing Office
The Health Licensing Office is located at:
1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180, Salem, OR 97301
Information Line (503) 378-8667

   

 Latest News

See all HLO News

IntroText

Board of Direct Entry Midwifery License Fees

​The 2013 Legislature passed HB 2997 making licensing mandatory for individuals practicing midwifery unless they were exempt. At that time the initial license costs were $1200 with a $1200 discount for applicants who met all licensing requirements and had never held a prior license. In 2013 fees for applicants renewing a license were $1200 annually. Documentation specifically related to fees was provided by the Legislative Fiscal Office (LFO) regarding HB 2997.

Cosmetology Chemical Peel Frequently Asked Questions

​The Board of Cosmetology under the Health Licensing Office recently revised their Oregon Administrative Rules effective January 1, 2020. To assist Estheticians in understanding the new rule language we have created a FAQ document regarding chemical peels.

Cosmetology Dermaplaning Frequently Asked Questions

​​The Board of Cosmetology under the Health Licensing Office recently revised their Oregon Administrative Rules effective January 1, 2020. To assist Estheticians in understanding the new rule language we have created a FAQ document regarding dermaplaning.

Cosmetology Esthetics Frequently Asked Questions

​The Board of Cosmetology under the Health Licensing Office recently revised their Oregon Administrative Rules effective January 1, 2020. To assist Estheticians in understanding the new rule language we have created a FAQ document regarding scope of practice.

1 - 4Next
 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×