Licenses Offered: Psychologist (doctorate degree in psychology) and Psychologist Associate (master's degree in psychology).
When to Apply: As you approach graduation, but not more than six months prior, you may begin to submit documents and references to the Board. Any documents that arrive prior to your application, including the background check, will be held for up to six months. For those who will be completing a residency in Oregon: You must submit a proposed resident supervision contract along with your application materials and wait for written Board approval of both before rendering any psychological services or using the title “psychologist resident.” Practicing psychology without a Board-approved contract will result in your work completed not counting towards the post-doctoral supervised work experience required for licensure, and could also subject you and your supervisor to sanction for unlicensed practice
Application Fee: $371.25 (non-refundable). This includes the background check fee ($46.25 as of 9/1/21) and is required to be paid with submission of the online application.
Working in Oregon before Licensed: To provide psychological services in Oregon prior to being licensed, a person must be:
- an approved applicant in a Board-approved residency contract; or,
- working in an exempt setting (see ORS 675.090); or,
- if licensed in another state, must be granted a limited permit.
Statutes (Laws) and Administrative Rules: Your legal rights and responsibilities are contained in these documents. Please review the licensure rules and laws carefully prior to completing and submitting your application.
Licensure Flowchart- a diagram showing the steps to licensure as a psychologist in Oregon.
- Standard Application- for psychologist applicants who are not licensed in another jurisdiction, and for psychologist associate applicants.
- Licensure by Endorsement- Application process for psychologist applicants who currently hold an active license as a psychologist based on a doctoral degree in another state and in good standing. Please use the form that applies to you:
- Endorsement Application (<15 years)- for applicants who have maintained an active psychologist license for less than 15 years.
- Endorsement Application (>=15 years)- for applicants who have maintained an active psychologist license for 15 years or more.
- Endorsement applicants please note:
- Alabama will no longer transfer files.*
- Colorado will no longer transfer files* or complete licensure verification forms.
- California will not transfer transcripts or EPPP scores.
- Illinois will no longer transfer files.*
- Virginia will no longer transfer files* or complete licensure verification forms.
*Applicants whose original licensing state is Alabama, Colorado, Illinois, or Virginia will need to transfer a credentialing body file (ASPPB, ABPP, or National Register) or apply via the Standard Application Method.
*** Please see our Temporary Changes to Application Form Procedures in Response to COVID-19.
Please note: Be sure you have the most current version, as forms are updated periodically. Revision dates are noted on the forms. For your convenience, forms are fillable and allow you to save your work.
For psychologist associate or foreign degree applicants only:
*** Update, As of July 2021: The Oregon State Police is experiencing a backlog in criminal background checks. We recommend all applicants complete their fingerprinting early in the process.***
A fingerprint-based criminal records check is required for all applicants (including reapplications). To begin the process, you will need to follow the fingerprinting instructions (below).
New applicants apply online through the Applicant Portal.
Important! If you have already started or submitted an application to the Board, do not start or submit another application in the Applicant Portal. This will cause a second system entry for you, which will lead to delays in the processing of your application and materials. Instead, login to the Portal using the email that you have on record with the Board. You can use the “forgot password” function if you do not remember your password, or if you are unsure which email address you have on record with the Board for your login, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
All application forms, fees and background check information must be submitted to the Board before application is considered complete. If you are unsure which forms to submit, please contact the Board office for guidance.
- Psychologist- a degree in psychology from an accredited doctoral program. See OAR 858-010-0010.
- Psychologist Associate- a master's degree in psychology from a regionally accredited institution. See OAR 858-010-0015.
Candidates for licensure are required to take and successfully pass:
- The Oregon Jurisprudence Exam- administered by the Board; and
- The Examination for the Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP)- administered by ASPPB (PES). The EPPP requirement may be waived for "Endorsement >=15 years" applicants. However, if you have taken the exam, we will need verification.
More information: Examinations
All psychologist candidates for licensure must complete (or have previously completed) at least one year (not less than 12 months) of qualifying post-doctoral supervised work experience. This must include at least 1,500 hours of psychological services under the supervision of a psychologist who has been licensed for at least 2 years. *The post-doc requirement does not apply to "Endorsement >=15 years" applicants.
Method of Payment
Pay online with card. Cash, checks, or outside e-payments are not accepted.
View status and verify documents received through the Applicant Portal.
NOTICE: Staff is working hard to transfer existing applicant data to the new portal. We appreciate your patience during this process. If you need to verify a document has been received, please check back in 1-2 weeks or contact us at email@example.com.
Visit our New System page for information on the new portal, including how to login for the first time and troubleshooting issues.