Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

ABOUT OUR SEMINARS
Technical Assistance: Seminars
 
The Technical Assistance for Employers program offers a variety of training seminars for Oregon employers, supervisors, managers, and human resource professionals. Technical Assistance trainers work closely with bureau enforcement divisions to provide you with educational seminars that cover the latest developments in employment law. BOLI seminars are acclaimed as an effective and proactive way to help keep your organization in compliance with labor laws -- and out of court!
 
Scroll down for further information or click on the appropriate quick link below.
 

QUICK LINKS FOR TA SEMINARS  
 

PLEASE READ OUR CANCELLATION POLICY
 
To cancel a seminar registration, notification must be received a minimum of 5 BUSINESS DAYS ​prior to the seminar date to receive a refund.
 
If a 5 business day or more notification was given, a refund will be issued in the original amount of the transaction minus a $25 processing fee.  No credits or rescheduling will be allowed.  All canceled registrations that were not paid prior to cancellation will still owe a $25 processing fee.
 
Cancellations with less than a 5 business day notification prior to the seminar will NOT receive a refund.  No credits or rescheduling will be allowed.  The same applies to a "NO SHOW."  All seminar registration fees not paid prior to seminar still remain due in full within 30 days.
 
If you are unable to make it to a seminar, you may send a substitute in your place.
 
The agency will comply with PCI security standards related to chargebacks.
 
PLEASE NOTE:  We DO NOT have the ability to make changes, corrections, or transfers in our online registration system.  Please be sure you are registering for a seminar that you can attend and the information that you enter is accurate.  All cancellations will incur a $25 processing fee even if it is to correct an error. 
 
 
SEMINAR CANCELLATIONS DUE TO WEATHER CONDITIONS
 
Occasionally wintry weather conditions force state ​office buildings to close. If you are scheduled to attend a BOLI seminar and are wondering if the seminar has been canceled due to weather conditions, please review the state office closure list.  If the list indicates that the Portland State Office buildings are CLOSED, then any Portland area seminars will be CANCELED that day.  If the list indicates that State Offices in Salem are CLOSED, then any Salem area seminars will be CANCELED that day, etc. 
 
During inclement weather, building closures notices are continuously updated.  You may need to check the list more than once.
 
For a list of State Office building closures, click here​
 

​​​​Advanced Leave Laws in Oregon Description
​​Dealing with a Difficult Employee - Available as an Onsite
Documentation, Discipline & Discharge
Effective Supervisory Practices
​Employee Handbooks ​Description​
Employee Supervision (2 Day Training)
Employment Law Update - Available as an Onsite Description
Janitorial Labor Contractors: ​Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault and Discrimination ​Description​
Leave Laws in Oregon​ (2 Day Training)
Leave Law Basics Description
Leave Laws in Oregon: Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) - Available as an Onsite
Legal Hiring Practices Description
Legislative Update/New Laws Description​​
Life of a Workers' Compensation Claim 
New Supervisor Training Series (6 Part Series)
Oregon Sick Time Update and New Laws - Available as an Onsite Description
Pay Equity ​​Description​​
Payroll Issues - Available as an Onsite
Predictive Work Scheduling for Retail, Hospitality & Food Services companies ​Description
Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace - Available as an Onsite Description
Recordkeeping Requirements
​Top Wage & Hour Issues Available as an Onsite Description
Wage & Hour Laws
Wage & Hour / Payroll Issues - Available as an Onsite Description
Workplace Accommodations  Description
Workplace Drug & Alcohol Issues Description
Workplace Harassment and Discrimination
Description
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 

 
Our schedule of upcoming seminars appear below. You will find the seminar dates, titles/descriptions, locations,   times and check-in time, and the cost.
 
If you have any questions, please contact TA at (971) 673-0825, or by email at selena.schryvers@state.or.us​ or bolita@boli.state.or.us  

SEMINAR SCHEDULE DISCLAIMER
We reserve the right to make changes to our seminar schedule at any time. These changes may include, but are not limited to, additions, cancellations, and/or location changes. Every attempt will be made to keep registrants apprised of any changes that might affect their ability to attend.
 
PLEASE NOTE:  We DO NOT have the ability to make changes, corrections, or transfers in our online registration system.  Please be sure you are registering for a seminar that you can attend and the information that you enter is accurate.  All cancellations will incur a $25 processing fee even if it is to correct an error.
May 2019

May 29 Leave Law Basics
Rogue Community College HEC Room 209 
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
May 30 ​​Documentation, Discipline & Discharge​ Klamath County Fire Dist #1
143 N Broad Street
Klamath Falls, OR
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​​

June 2019

June 4 Leave Law Basics University of Oregon
Peacehealth N Bldg Rm 478
677 E 12th Ave
Eugene, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here

​June 5

Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault & Discrimination for Janitorial Labor Contractors ​​Webinar​ 8am-10am Register Here​

June 5

Pay Equity ​Deschutes Service Building
DeArmond Conference Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR
​​​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​

June 6

Legal Hiring ​Deschutes Service Building
DeArmond Conference Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​Register Here
​June 6
Workplace Harassment & Discrimination ​Deschutes Service Building
DeArmond Conference Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR
​​​​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​

June 7

Employee Handbooks Deschutes Service Building
DeArmond Conference Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here

June 11-12

​2-Day Employee Supervision ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
SOLD OUT
June 12 New Supervisor Training Series - Springfield (Part 4 of 6) Springfield Justice Center EOC
2nd Floor
230 4th Street
Springfield, OR
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am

June 20

​Legal Hiring ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here

June 20

Workplace Harassment & Discrimination Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR ​
1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
​Register Here

June 26

New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 6 of 6) ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am​
June 26
New Supervisor Training Series - Medford (Part 1 of 6) ​​Rogue Community College 
HEC
 Room 209 
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
​​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
June 26
Workplace Accommodations Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 209 
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​​

July 2019

July 9-10
 
2-DayLeave Laws in Oregon Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-4pm​
Check-in 8:30am​​
Register Here​​​
July 10 NewSupervisor Training Series    - Springfield (Part 5 of 6) Springfield Justice Center EOC
2nd Floor
230 4th Street
Springfield, OR
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
July 16 Legislative Update/New Laws Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here
July 16-17
2-Day ​Leave Laws in Oregon Blue Mountain C.C. 
Workforce Training Center 
251 N. Olson 
Boardman, OR
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​​
 
July 17
 
​Wage and Hour Laws ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR ​
​​9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
July 18
 
Workplace Harassment & Discrimination WorkSource Oregon 
1901 Adams Ave.
La Grande, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
July 23
​Legal Hiring ​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
July 23
Legislative Update/New Laws ​​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​
July 24
 
​​New Supervisor Training Series - Medford (Part 2 of 6) Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 118 
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
July 24
 
​Legislative Update Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 118 
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
​Register Here​
July 25
 
​Advanced Leave Laws ​​Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 118 
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​

July 25
​​Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault & Discrimination for Janitorial Labor Contractors ​​​Webinar​ ​8:30am-10:30am Register Here

August 2019


August 7-8​
​2-Day Employee Supervision ​​​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR ​
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am

August 13

Recordkeeping Requirements Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR ​
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
​August 14 Wage and Hour Laws Clatsop Community College 
Columbia Hall - Room 219
1651 Lexington Ave
Astoria, OR 
​​9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
August 14 New SupervisorTraining Series    - Springfield (Part 6 of 6) Springfield Justice Center EOC
2nd Floor
230 4th Street
Springfield, OR
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​​
August 15​ ​Workplace Harassment & Discrimination Clatsop Community College 
Columbia Hall - Room 219
1651 Lexington Ave
Astoria, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
August 22 ​​Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault & Discrimination for Janitorial Labor Contractors ​​​​Webinar​ ​8:30am-10:30am Register Here​
​August 27 Advanced Leave Laws University of Oregon
Peacehealth N Bldg Rm 478
677 E 12th Ave
Eugene, OR 
​​9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
August 28 Leave Law Basics Deschutes Service Building
DeArmond Conference Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR
​​9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
 
August 28
 
​​​New Supervisor Training Series - Medford (Part 3 of 6) Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 209
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
August 28 ​​New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 1 of 6) Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR ​
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
August 28 Documentation, Discipline and Discharge Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR ​
1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here
August 29 Wage and Hour Laws ​​Deschutes Service Building
DeArmond Conference Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
August 30 Documentation, Discipline and Discharge ​​Deschutes Service Building
DeArmond Conference Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am​
Register Here

September 2019


September 4

Wage and Hour Laws​
University of Oregon
Peacehealth N Bldg Rm 478
677 E 12th Ave
Eugene, OR ​
​​​9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Re​​gister Here​​
​September 5 Documentation, Discipline and Discharge ​​University of Oregon
Peacehealth N Bldg Rm 478
677 E 12th Ave
Eugene, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am​
Register Here
September 5 ​​Leave Law Basics​ ​​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​​​9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
September 10 ​​Leave Law Basics ​​Broadway Commons
Mongolia Room, 305
1300 Broadway St NE
Salem, OR
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​​September 11 New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 2 of 6) Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am​
September 11 Employee Handbooks ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​
September 12 Advanced Leave Laws Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
September 17 Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault & Discrimination for Janitorial  Labor Contractors                      Webinar​ ​8:30am-10:30am ​Register Here​
September 24 Advanced Leave Laws Broadway Commons
Mongolia Room, 305
1300 Broadway St NE
Salem, OR
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
September 25 New SupervisorTraining Series    - Medford (Part 4 of 6) Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 209
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​​
September 25 Workplace Drug and Alcohol Issues Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 209
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here
September 25 ​​New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 3 of 6) ​​​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
September 25 ​Workplace Harassment & Discrimination ​​​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​

October 2019

October 8 ​​​Life of a Workers' Compensation Claim Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am​
Register Here​
October 9 New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 4 of 6) ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
October 9 New SupervisorTraining Series
- Medford (Part 5 of 6)
Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 118
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am

October 9 ​Legal Hiring ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here
October 10 ​​​Leave Law Basics Klamath County Fire Dist #1
143 N Broad Street
Klamath Falls, OR
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
October 15 ​​Recordkeeping Requirements​ Blue Mountain CC
2411 NW Carden Ave
Room ST-214
Pendleton, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
October 16 Documentation, Discipline and Discharge Blue Mountain CC
3275 Baker Street
Modular Room
Baker City, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
October 17 Wage and Hour Laws Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
October 22 ​​Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault & Discrimination for Janitorial Labor Contractors ​​Webinar​ ​​​8:30am-10:30am Register Here​​
October 23 New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 5 of 6) Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
October 23 Documentation, Discipline and Discharge Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​

November 2019

November
12-13
2-Day Employee Supervision​
University of Oregon
Peacehealth N Bldg Rm 478
677 E 12th Ave
Eugene, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
November 13 ​​New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 6 of 6) Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
November 14 Employee Handbooks Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
November 14 Workplace Harassment & Discrimination Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​
November 19 ​​Wage and Hour Laws Hatfield Marine Science Center
2030 SE Marine Science Dr
Newport, OR
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am​
​Register Here
November 19 Leave Law Basics Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am​
Register Here​
November 19 Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault & Discrimination for Janitorial Labor Contractors ​​​Webinar​ 8:30am-10:30am Register Here​
November 20 Recordkeeping Requirements​
(condensed)
Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 209
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
​​​1pm-4pm
Check in 12:30pm
Register Here​​
November 20 New SupervisorTraining Series  - Medford (Part 6 of 6) Rogue Community College 
HEC Room 209
101 S Bartlett 
Medford, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​​​

December2019​

​December 3
Advanced Leave Laws
​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am

Register Here​
​December 5 ​Legislative Update ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here​
December 17 Preventing Harassment, Sexual Assault & Discrimination for Janitorial Labor Contractors Webinar​ 8:30am-10:30am Register Here​
​​December
17-18
2-Day Employee Supervision ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St​
Portland, OR 
9am-4pm
Check-in 8:30am​
​Register Here​




 /images/backToTheTop_off.gif 
 
 
 
 

 
Seminar Fees
 
Seminar Fees
​     2 Hour Seminar​ ​                   $50 per person
     1/2 Day Seminars (3 Hours)
                   ​$99 per person
     1 Day Seminars
                   $199 per person
     2 Day Seminars                    $299 per person
     NSTS Series                    $399 per person
    
 
  

  
Seminar Registration
 
Registration includes training materials. To register for one of the above regular seminars, click on the "Register Here" to the right of the seminar and fill out the online registration form.
 
If you have any questions, please contact TA at (971) 673-0825, or by email at selena.schryvers@state.or.us or bolita@boli.state.or.us 
 
PLEASE NOTE:  We DO NOT have the ability to make changes, corrections, or transfers in our new online registration system.  Please be sure you are registering for a seminar that you can attend and the information that you enter is accurate.  All cancellations will incur a $25 processing fee even if it is to correct an error.
 
Confirmations: Your seminar registration will be confirmed via e-mail from the online registration system. 
 
 

  
​Continuing Education/ Recertifcation Credit
 
Currently our seminars entitled: Leave Laws in Oregon, Advanced Leave Laws, Wage and Hour Laws, Workplace Harassment, Employee Handbooks, Leave Laws 2-day Training and the 2-day Employee Supervision class are approved for Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) recertification for PHR, SPHR and GPHR. The New Supervisor Training Series is not preapproved for recertification credits for PHR, SPHR and GPHR through the HRCI.
 
Landscape Contractors: All of our public BOLI seminars have been approved for continuing education hours (CEH) credit by the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board.
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 
 

​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​