Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

DMV Manuals & Guides

Overview

Note: This page provides materials produced by DMV primarily. Driving and vehicle related manuals and guides provided by other organizations can generally be found on the Brochures & Publications page. 

Audio Class C (Non-Commercial) Driver Manual
DMV provides audio versions of the Oregon Driver Manual in both English and Spanish. You may listen to these manuals online using the links above, clicking on the audio symbol to the right or check out a CD copy at most Oregon public libraries and high school libraries.
 
Note: DMV recommends that you use a hardcopy manual in conjunction with the audio version in order to view important illustrations and diagrams.
 
Speaker symbol for audio driver manual
Audio Commercial Driver Manual
DMV provides an audio version of the Oregon Commercial Driver Manual in English only. You may listen to a reading of manual content using the link above or by clicking on the audio symbol to the right.
 
Note: DMV recommends that you use a hardcopy manual in conjunction with the audio version in order to view important illustrations and diagrams.
 
Speaker symbol for audio commercial driver manual
Class C (Non-Commercial) Driver Manual
The Oregon Driver Manual (Form 735-37) contains information about road signs, traffic laws and other information you need to know to drive in Oregon, and to pass both the standard Knowledge Test (for Class C non-commercial) and the Safe Driving Practices Test (for individuals under 18 years of age).
 
You may view this manual by clicking on the link above, the picture to the right or get a copy from your local DMV office.
 Oregon Driver Manual
Class C (Non-Commercial) Spanish Driver Manual
The Manual del Conductor de Oregon (Formulario 735-37S) is a hardcopy version of the Oregon Driver Manual in Spanish. It contains information about road signs, traffic laws and other information you need to know to drive in Oregon, and to pass both the standard Knowledge Test (for Class C non-commercial) and the Safe Driving Practices Test (for individuals under 18 years of age).
 
You may view this manual by clicking on the link above, the picture to the right or get a copy from your local DMV office.
 Oregon Driver Manual in Spanish
Commercial Driver Manual
DMV provides a hardcopy version of the Oregon Commercial Driver Manual (Form 735-36) in English only. It contains the information needed to operate a commercial vehicle in Oregon and to pass various Commercial Knowledge and Skills Tests (Commercial drivers have to take one or more knowledge tests, depending on the class of license and endorsements they need).
 
You may view this manual by clicking on the link above, the picture to the right or get a copy from your local DMV office.
 
Note: Refer to the "CDL Licensing Requirements" table in the Oregon Commercial Motor Vehicle Manual (Form 735-36) for details on how to obtain the desired endorsement(s). Endorsement exams cover not only material from individual endorsement sections, but also from the section on driving safely. Be familiar with the driving safely section when applying for any classification or endorsement.

/ODOT/DMV/PublishingImages/manuals/cmv.jpg
Motorcycle & Moped Operator Manual
DMV provides a hardcopy version of the Oregon Motorcycle & Moped Manual (Form 735-6367) in English only. It contains information about motorcycle and moped road rules and safe riding practices. This manual provides the information you need to operate a motorcycle in Oregon, and to pass the Motorcycle Knowledge Test, which is required to obtain a Motorcycle Endorsement or Motorcycle Instruction Permit. This manual and the Oregon Driver Manual (Form 735-37) provide the information needed to pass the Moped Knowledge Test, which is required to get a moped-restricted driver license.
 
You may view this manual by clicking on the link above, the picture to the right or get a copy from your local DMV office.
/ODOT/DMV/PublishingImages/manuals/motorcycle.jpg

Parent Guide to Teen Driving
The Oregon Department of Transportation provides a hardcopy version of The Oregon Parent Guide to Teen Driving (Form 735-7190) in English only. It contains information to support the important partnerships between state driver licensing, driver education, teen drivers and their parents.
 
You may view this manual by clicking on the link above, the picture to the right or get a copy from your local DMV office.
 
 
 /ODOT/DMV/PublishingImages/manuals/parentguide.jpg
Creative Commons License
The Oregon Parent Guide to Teen Driving by Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Vehicle License Plate Manual
DMV provides a hardcopy Oregon Vehicle License Plate Manual (Form 735-6726) in English only. It provides information about the various license plates issued in Oregon. It is intended for use by law enforcement and other agencies that frequently deal with questions concerning vehicle registration. Some previously-issued license plates do not appear in the manual, but may be legally used. For questions concerning the legality of plates not listed in the manual, call DMV’s Customer Assistance Unit at (503) 945-5000.
 
You may view this manual by clicking on the link above or the picture to the right.
/ODOT/DMV/PublishingImages/manuals/vehicle.jpg
Guide to Oregon Driving Records
DMV provides comprehensive instruction for reading Oregon driving records in the Guide to Oregon Driving Records & Standard Conviction Abbreviation Manual (Form 735-6665).
 
You may view this manual by clicking on the link above or the picture to the right.
 /ODOT/DMV/PublishingImages/manuals/guide.jpg
Using DMV Forms, Manuals & Publications
Use the links below to access information about using and printing DMV Forms, Manuals and Publications, and trouble shooting problems:
Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: