Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission (OSSPAC)

After the Loma Prieta Earthquake in the Bay Area of California in 1989, Oregon residents wanted State government to address earthquake hazards and preparedness of the state. As a result, the Interagency Seismic Task Force recommended that a new state commission be formed in response to this need.
The Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission (OSSPAC), also known as the Earthquake Commission, is tasked with promoting earthquake awareness and preparedness in Oregon. The mission of OSSPAC is to positively influence decisions and policies regarding pre-disaster mitigation of earthquake and tsunami hazards, increase public understanding of earthquake hazard, risk, exposure, and vulnerability through education, and be responsive to the new studies and/or issues raised around earthquakes and tsunamis.
The Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission (OSSPAC) was formed as a result of Senate Bill 96 in 1991. Since this time, OSSPAC has continued to increase Oregon’s awareness to earthquake hazards by supporting earthquake education, research and legislation. Every two years, OSSPAC provides a summary report to the Governor of the Commission's activities. OSSPAC has formed relationships with the Western States Seismic Policy Council (WSSPC) and the California Seismic Safety Commission which provides a persuasive advantage to affect federal policy for the West Coast.


OSSPAC meets bi-monthly (usually on the second Tuesday)


  • September 14, 2021, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • November 9, 2021, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • January 11, 2022, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • January 25, 2022, Special Meeting, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • March 8, 2022, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • May 10, 2022, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • July 12, 2022, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • September 13, 2022, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • November 8, 2022, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM


You can also dial in using your phone: 1-253-215-8782
Meeting ID: 895 3911 7040 
Passcode: 997027

Members of the Commission
The Commission is made up of 18 individuals who represent a variety of interests concerned with forming public policy regarding earthquakes and includes six government representatives, six representatives of the public interest, and six representatives of industries and stakeholders. This variety of commission members helps direct the goals of the Commission for the benefit of all Oregon citizens.
  • CHAIR: Tiffany Brown - Local Government Stakeholder
  • VICE CHAIR: Trent Nagele, Structural Engineer Stakeholder
  • Matt Crall - Department of Land Conservation & Development
  • David Gomberg - Representative Legislative Assembly
  • Dick Anderson - Representative Legislative Assembly
  • Lesley Ogden - First Responder Stakeholder
  • Joe Karney - Utilities Stakeholder
  • Christina LeClerc - Oregon Department of Transportation
  • Ed MacMullan - Banking Stakeholder
  • Bonnie Magura - Schools Stakeholder
  • Adam Pushkas - Building Owners Stakeholder
  • Althea Rizzo - Oregon Department of Emergency Management
  • Aeron Teverbaugh - Dept. of Consumer and Business Services
  • Jonathan Allan - Department of Geology and Mineral Industries
  • Susan Romanski - Public Member
  • Katie Young - Public Member
  • Elizabeth Safran - Public Member
  • Carolina Gomez - Multifamily Housing Stakeholder

Commission Reports

Presentations and Testimony

Meeting Minutes


Other Resources